Deja Vu For Guss In West Liberty


WEST LIBERTY, Iowa – The second Deery Brothers Summer Series event of the sea­son at West Liberty Raceway looked a lot like the first.

Ray Guss, Jr. started on the pole and led from start to finish in a convincing Tuesday night run to the IMCA late-model tour checkers.

The $2,000 victory gave the two-time defending series champion a bookend trophy to the one he got at West Liberty in April. Guss had led the last 28 of 40 laps in winning by a comfortable mar­gin that evening.

He repeated that strong showing when the series returned, catching up with the back on the field just eight laps into the 35-lapper and checking out.

The only caution came when Gary Webb’s motor expired on the 26th circuit. Nick Marolf had raced from sixth to second early on but couldn’t gain ground on Guss.

Marolf’s runner-up finish was his career best. Andy Eckrich, Jay Johnson and Jeff Aikey rounded out the top five.

Guss and Curt Martin are now tied for third on the series career wins list with 25 victories each. Aikey leads the way with 56 and Mark Burgtorf is second with 26.

Denny Eckrich won his “B” feature and finished sixth; point leader Mike Murphy Jr. was ninth while Doug Yates nabbed hard charger honors after using a provisional and advancing nine posi­tions to 14th.

Johnson also won the $250 Sunoco Race Fuels feature qualifier drawing.

Kyle Hinrichs was not injured after getting upside down and on top of an infield barrier at the conclu­sion of his heat race. There was considerable damage to the car and Hinrichs did not start his “B” feature.

SPEED SPORT Magazine “digital edition” now available for iPad and iPhone!

Get one year for just $12.99. Single issues (including back issues) are available for $2.99.
Click here to visit the iTunes App Store for details!