Culp Leads Honorees During CCSDS Banquet

Culp Leads Honorees
Timothy Culp (left), the 2019 COMP Cams Super Dirt Series champion.

CONWAY, Ark. – The COMP Cams Super Dirt Series presented by Lucas Oil hosted its Night of Champions banquet on Saturday night at the Centennial Country Club.

The night’s festivities included Louisiana native Timothy Culp being crowned as the 2019 CCSDS champion and Scott Crigler being honored as the Midwest Sheet Metal Rookie of the Year.

Culp, who now resides in Prattsville, Ark., received $10,000 for his inaugural CCSDS championship. He claimed the title by 23 markers over Missouri’s Tony Jackson Jr.

With the title, Culp became the eighth different champion in the 13-year history of the tour.

In addition to Culp and Jackson Jr., the balance of the top 10 in the final series standings were honored, which included Brian Rickman, B.J. Robinson, Morgan Bagley, Kyle Beard, Hunter Rasdon, Scott Crigler, Chad Mallett and David Payne.

Alton, Missouri’s Scott Crigler was crowned the Midwest Sheet Metal Rookie of the Year. He received $1,500 for his efforts, while his runner-up in the competition, Chad Mallett, received $1,000.

Casey Mooneyham was presented with the Crew Chief of the Year award for his 2019 accomplishments with Tony Jackson Jr.

Additionally, Billy Carroll from COMP Cams received a Lifetime Achievement Award for his support and contributions to the racing community.

Sixteen drivers visited victory lane in 22 events with the CCSDS in 2019. Tony Jackson Jr. led the way in wins, with four visits to victory lane.

In total, more than $34,000 in points money was paid out, which marked a $12,000 increase from the 2018 point fund.

“Our first season to run a series, was definitely a learning experience, but Jack [Sullivan] and I are really proud of the season that we had,” said CCSDS CEO Chris Sullivan. “We had a ton of great competition on the tour and no shortage of great racing. I can’t say enough about all of the sponsors, who go above and beyond to sponsor the tour. They’ve allowed us to expand what we do and offer more money and prizes to the racers.

“We’re really excited about 2020 and what the series will have to offer tracks, drivers and fans.”

The 2020 CCSDS season marks the 14th year for the tour and includes more than 30 dates spread across 12 tracks in five states. Action opens on March 6-7 at Louisiana’s Boothill Speedway with the inaugural Ronny Adams Memorial.

The weekend posts a $3,000 winner’s check on Friday night and a $7,000 top prize on Saturday, March 7.