Chisholm Untouchable At Deer Creek Speedway

Jim Chisholm swept the weekend in USRA B-Mod action Saturday at Deer Creek Speedway.
Jim Chisholm swept the weekend in USRA B-Mod action Saturday at Deer Creek Speedway.

SPRING VALLEY, Minn. – He’s only 17 years old, but the record that Jim Chisholm has amassed at the Deer Creek Speedway and Featherlite Fall Jamboree is something that may never be surpassed and will be talked about for generations.

On Saturday night, Chisholm topped a thrilling 25-lap USRA B-Mod main event to complete a sweep of the weekend’s events for the Christie Door Company Iron Man Challenge built by Medieval Chassis.

But these were more than back-to-back wins. They’re actually back-to-back-to-back-to-back-to back.

Not long after acquiring his Iowa drivers license, Chisholm did the same thing last year when the event was three nights and he made three trips to victory lane.

His second straight sweep of the event and fifth consecutive Featherlite Fall Jamboree feature race win was worth $1,200 and padded his lead in the USRA B-Mod national points battle as he looks to capture his first Summit USRA Weekly Racing Series title.

Dan Hovden did all he could do to put an end to Chisholm’s incredible streak. He passed Chisholm on the first lap of Saturday’s main event and then stole the lead from Josh Roney with four laps in the books.

Chisholm moved into second on the seventh lap and—to the delight of the fans—proceeded to race side-by-side with Hovden for a dozen laps. A late caution allowed third-running Brandon Maitland and 12th-starting Kris Jackson a chance to join the fun.

With five laps to go, Chisholm edged Hovden at the flagstand to lead for the first time in the contest. The next time around he was able to clear Hovden and held him at bay for the remaining three laps to earn another visit to victory lane at ‘The Creek.’

The margin of victory was less than seven-tenths of a second.

The 22nd Annual Featherlite Fall Jamboree presented by Chevrolet Performance saw Chisholm, Hovden, Maitland, Jackson and Roney claim the first five spots while Alex Schubbe, Troy Hovey, Shaun Walski, Dustin Kruse and 28th-starting Parker Hale rounded out the top 10.