Bronson Gets The Job Done At Ocala

Kyle Bronson (40) won Thursday's NeSmith Dirt Late Model Series race at Bubba Raceway Park in Ocala, Fla. (NeSmith DLMS photo)
Kyle Bronson (40) won Thursday’s NeSmith Dirt Late Model Series race at Bubba Raceway Park in Ocala, Fla. (NeSmith DLMS photo)

OCALA, Fla. — Kyle Bronson survived a wild NeSmith Chevrolet Dirt Late Model Series 40-lap event Thursday night to win the Rock Speedweeks presented By Racecar Engineering event at Bubba Raceway Park.

Bronson swapped the lead on several occasions before taking the $2,000 win driving the Brandon Ford Warrior.

Bronson led the first 14 laps of the race before dropping back to the fourth spot, but he rallied back to survive a tangle in front of him between the top two cars. That incident led to Bronson reclaiming the lead on lap 32.

Bronson then held off a challenge from two-time NeSmith Chevrolet Dirt Late Model Series champion David Earl Gentry to take his first series career win with a 1.216-second margin of victory.

“There were slid jobs being thrown all over the place tonight, so when I saw how we were going to race, I got in there with them,” Bronson said. “There is some great competition here, so it feels great to win and we’re looking forward to the rest of the week.”

Gentry finished second in the Eads Farms/Hardy & Associates Warrior to give the Knoxville-based chassis manufacturer a one-two finish. Gentry also took over the NeSmith Chevrolet Dirt Late Model Series point lead after the first three races of the 2013 season.

National Dirt Late Model Hall of Fame Inductee Ronnie Johnson took third spot after a high-riding late-race charge in the NeSmith Chevrolet Special. Doug Horton was fourth with Ivedent Lloyd Jr. fifth.

The finish:

Kyle Bronson, David Earl Gentry, Ronnie Johnson, Doug Horton, Ivedent Lloyd Jr., Jonathan Davenport, Joey Coulter, Ryan Montgomery, Shannon Lee, Jason Welshan, Mack McCarter, Dalton Myers, Austin Kirkpatrick, Jason Fitzgerald, Johnny Stokes, Brent Barrett, Darren Peters, Larry Harrod, Chase Edge, Matthew Turner, Phillip Pittman, Justin McRee, Josh Atkins, Mike Pegher Jr., Ronny Hollingsworth, John Over, Shan Smith.