Bobby Pierce Rules Spoon River Hell Tour Go

Bobby Pierce won Thursday's UMP DIRTcar Nationals feature at Spoon River Speedway. (Jim DenHamer photo)

BANNER, Ill. — Bobby Pierce raced from outside the third row to win Thursday night’s UMP DIRTcar Summernationals late model feature at Spoon River Speedway.

Pierce ran down Dennis Erb Jr. and grabbed the lead near the halfway point in the 50-lap feature and drove on to a $5,000 victory.

Pierce, who is chasing his third consecutive Summernationals title, held off Erb for the victory.

Ryan Unzicker finished third with Chris Simpson and Billy Drake rounding out the top five.

It was Pierce’s 20th career Summernationals victory.

Ray Bollinger won the companion modified main event.

The finish:

Bobby Pierce, Dennis Erb Jr., Ryan Unzicker, Chris Simpson, Billy Drake, Billy Moyer, Jason Feger, Billy Moyer Jr., Rusty Schlenk, Shannon Babb, Bob Gardner, Tyler Bruening, Brent Larson, Dustin Nobbe, Paul Stubber, Brian Shirley, Matt Furman, Gordy Gundaker, Jay Sparks, Paul Parker, Kevin Weaver, A.J. May.