Bobby Pierce Does It Again In Arizona

Scores second straight Wild West Shootout victory

Bobby Pierce celebrates his second consecutive Wild West Shootout victory Sunday at Arizona Speedway. (Mike Ruefer photo)

QUEEN CREEK, Ariz. — Bobby Pierce picked off his second win in as many rounds of 11th annual Keyser Manufacturing Wild West Shootout presented by O’Reilly Auto Parts action by racing to victory lane in Sunday night’s 30-lap dirt late model feature at the Arizona Speedway.

After wiring the field in Saturday night’s opener, Pierce had to work for Sunday’s $5,000 score, taking command on a lap-15 restart and leading the rest of the way to secure the win aboard the Allgayer, Inc./Bob Pierce Race Cars No. 32.

“I’m outta breath after that one,” Pierce said.

While Pierce bested the Black Diamond/Club 29 Super Late Models presented by M&W Transport for the second straight race, other Sunday night Wild West Shootout winners included Dustin Strand in USRA Modifieds and Chad Olsen in X-Modifieds.

While Pierce led to the green flag from the pole position, he spent the early portion of the race chasing fellow front row starter Garrett Alberson.  Alberson paced the opening dozen circuits before Brandon Overton took command on a lap-13 restart.

Another restart two laps later following a multi-car melee in turns three and four in which Justin Duty got upside down opened the door for Pierce, as he slid in front of Overton for the lead in turns one and two as the green flag flew again.

“I had seen Brandon try it earlier and decided to give it a try,” Pierce explained.  “I had a really good run on the bottom, then I pushed a little getting into one so hopefully I didn’t mess him up.”

Once out front, the 20-year-old set sail and checked out on the field to keep his hopes of the Keyser Manufacturing $250,000 bonus for a six-race sweep alive.

Overton surrendered second with a bobble exiting turn four on the 22nd lap, leaving Chris Simpson and Jimmy Mars to battle it out for runner-up honors.  Simpson worked the low side of the track to ultimately earn runner-up honors with Mars settling for third.

“I had to dedicate to the bottom,” Simpson said.  “I lost some spots early until I figured out three and four.”

Overton settled for fourth while Earl Pearson, Jr., rounded out the top five for the second night in a row.

The finish:

Bobby Pierce, Chris Simpson, Jimmy Mars, Brandon Overton, Earl Pearson Jr., R.C. Whitwell, David Breazeale, Garrett Alberson, Rodney Sanders, Tyler Erb, Bobby Hogge, Billy Moyer, Chad Mahder, Terry Phillips, Joey Moriarty, Jake O’Neil, A.J. Diemel, Justy Duty, Mike Marlar, Ricky Thornton Jr., Jason Rauen, Justin Kay, Jason Krohn, Dustin Strand.