Bobby Pierce Does It Again In Arizona

In Wild West Shootout

Bobby Pierce (32) battles Billy Moyer during Friday's Wild West Shootout feature at Arizona Speedway. (Mike Ruefer photo)

QUEEN CREEK, Ariz. — Friday the 13th did little to scare Bobby Pierce as he made a quick return to victory lane at Arizona Speedway to capture his third super late model triumph in the first four rounds of the 11th annual Keyser Manufacturing Wild West Shootout presented by O’Reilly Auto Parts.

With his third win in four rounds of Black Diamond/Club 29 Super Late Models presented by M&W Transport action, Pierce stays in contention for a potential $100,000 Keyser Manufacturing bonus if he can top the final two events or a $50,000 bonus for winning just one of the two left on the docket.

“It’s really hard.  This field is very tough, especially the more nights we run, the more they figure out,” Pierce said.

After winning the opening two legs of the Wild West Shootout last weekend, Pierce found himself chasing Round Three winner Billy Moyer in the early going of Friday’s $5,000-to-win, 30-lap feature event.

Pierce dove under Moyer to take command on the fifth round and then led the rest of the way to take the win by 1.822 seconds ahead of Chris Simpson, who settled for runner-up honors for the third race in a row to stay within 13 points of Pierce in the series points chase.

Moyer took third-place honors behind Pierce and Simpson with Garrett Alberson and 18th-starter Terry Phillips rounding out the top five.

Ricky Thornton Jr., had to work for his third MVT/Border International USRA Modified presented by Arizona Differential win of the series by rallying from the tenth starting position for the triumph.

Thornton raced to the stripe ahead of R.C. Whitwell, who charged from 16th, with Shane Sabraski, Brad Dierks and Dustin Strand rounding out the top five.

The RHR Swag X-Mods presented by Barnett Harley-Davidson added a fourth different winner in as many rounds with Ron Schreiner making the most of his pole starting position to take victory honors ahead of Thornton Jr., Rusty Kollman, Shawn Strong and Preston Carr.

The finish:

Bobby Pierce, Chris Simpson, Billy Moyer, Garrett Alberson, Terry Phillips, Earl Pearson, Jr., Jimmy Mars, Brandon Overton, Tyler Erb, Scott Ward, Rodney Sanders, Jason Rauen, Steve Drake, Dustin Strand, Kyle Beard, Joey Moriarty, Tony Toste, Chandler Petty, Billy Franklin, Nick Bartels, Andrew Kosiski, Cole Schill, Chad Mahder, R.C. Whitwell.