Billy Moyer Masters MLRA Foes In Iowa

Billy Moyer grabbed his 818th late model victory Saturday at Iowa's Independence Motor Speedway. (Jim Denhamer photo)

INDEPENDENCE, Iowa — Saturday night wrapped up the weekend’s trio of events for the Lucas Oil MLRA. Polesitter Billy Moyer jumped out to the lead, and stormed away from the field for his second win of the season career win No. 818.

“We just keep working at it, were doing a bunch of new stuff here,” commented Moyer. “We’ve had a lot of ups ad downs. Were learning what we needed to learn. Just hopefully we keep getting a little bit better.”

Rodney Sanders held second for the feature’s duration. It was his best run of the weekend.

“Billy definitely had the fastest car tonight. It was a good night for us. We were good in our qualifying and our heat race. It was an improvement form last night.”

Chris Simpson stalked Sanders for the duration and finished third. The finish at Independence goes along with a win and runner up this weekend.

“We didn’t qualify where we thought we needed to and changed some stuff for the heat,” said Simpson. “It definitely made the car worse. Billy was the class of the field all night. This is his type of stuff. This dirty sandy stuff, he’s good at. All in all it’s a good night.”

Brent Larson had his best run of the weekend coming home fourth and Jimmy Mars ran fifth.

The finish:

Billy Moyer, Rodney Sanders, Chris Simpson, Brent Larson, Jimmy Mars, Bobby Pierce, Ricky Thornton Jr., Tony Jackson Jr., Tyler Bruning, Chad Simpson, Jesse Stovall, Dave Eckrich, Spencer Diercks, J.C. Wyman, Terry Phillips, Brantlee Gotschall, Randy Timms, Raymond Merrill, Payton Looney, Justin Asplin, Jordan Yaggy, Evan Hubert, Al Humphrey, Paul Parker.