Beuseling Convinces Knoxville Foes


KNOXVILLE, Iowa — Not only did he accomplish the feat in convincing fashion, Nate Beuseling earned his first Deery Brothers Summer Series victory on one of dirt-track racing’s biggest stages.

Beuseling started on the pole, checked out early and was rarely challenged in winning Tuesday’s Harris Clash IMCA Late Model tour headliner at Knoxville Raceway.

The victory came in Beuseling’s 18th career Deery start and paid $2,000.

Todd Cooney closed the gap as Beuseling caught up with lapped traffic before midway of the caution-free 35-lapper. Beuseling took a look on the high side before moving back to the preferred inside line and eventually pulled away to take the checkers nearly six car lengths ahead of Cooney.

Rounding out the top five were Mike Garland, with his series career-best third place finish, Jay Johnson and Matt Strassheim.

Beuseling became the fourth first-time series winner of the season, following Matt Ryan, Matt Bailey and Mike Murphy Jr. to victory lane.

Jesse Sobbing scored a convincing win of his own in the Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMod main event, setting a blistering pace from the start and crossing the finish line six lapped cars ahead of runner-up Austin Kaplan.

His victory paid $750 and also came in a caution-free feature.

Jim Gillenwater, Carter VanDenBerg and Beau Kaplan completed the top five.

Thirty-eight Late Models and 58 Northern SportMods were entered in the midweek show.

The finish:

Nate Beuseling, Todd Cooney, Mike Garland, Jay Johnson, Matt Strassheim, Brian Harris, Ray Guss, Jr., Nick Marolf, Andy Eckrich, Justin Reed, Tom Goble, Tommy Elston, Darrel DeFrance, Terry Neal, Jeff Aikey, Tyler Bruening, Mike Klinkkammer, Tom Darbyshire, Joel Callahan, Colby Springsteen, T.J. Criss, Spencer Diercks, Todd Malmstrom, Eric Sanders.



Previous articlePHOTOS: Final Lap July 21-24, 2011
Next articleWoO Adds Antioch Date is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.