Berck Convinces Kansas MLRA Competitors


KANSAS CITY, Kan. — Kyle Berck claimed the Lucas Oil MLRA’s 550th sanctioned race with a convincing victory Friday night at Lakeside Speedway.

The perfectly prepared track drew a tough field of 44 late models for the Clyde Ellis Late Model Showdown.

Jesse Stovall piloted his Moyer Victory Circle machine to a second-place finish, closing the gap on second place in the championship points to a single marker.

Berck is no stranger to victory lane, as this marks his 16th late model triumph of 2012.

“The car’s been really good lately,” stated Berck. “I was fighting hard on the bottom and wasn’t getting the job done early on. We just couldn’t keep up. Chad (Simpson) and (Mark) Dotson was getting out on me. We moved up, fell in line in third and ran ’em back down after a few laps.”

Chad Simpson, Chris Simpson and Dotson filled the top five.

The finish:

Kyle Berck, Jesse Stovall, Chad Simpson, Chris Simpson, Mark Dotson, John Anderson, Will Vaught, Dave Eckrich, Brad Looney, Tommy Weder Jr., David Turner, Don Shaw, Mike Balcaen, Ryan Gustin, Brandon McCormick, Chase Junghans, Bill Leighton, Bryon Allison, Justin Asplin, Bill Koons, Justin Zeitner, Charlie McKenna, Kevin Sather.