Asplin & Simpson Claim MLRA Victories


KANSAS CITY, Kan. — Justin Asplin picked up his first super late model victor in the No. 77 B&A Pallet, Hatfield Racing Engines, Rocket at Lakeside Speedway Saturday night.

Asplin started outside the front row and led all 35 laps of the four-tenths-mile dirt track to bank the $3,000 victory.

Chris Simpson cruised to a second-place finish followed by James Shereck, Brad Looney and Will Vaught.

In the second feature of the evening, Terry Phillips fresh off his $10,000 USMTS Modified win, rolled form the pole and led until late when Chris Simpson was able to slip underneath him and hang on to the checkered flag.

The win in Simpson’s second at Lakeside Speedway. Phillips was second and Vaught ended the evening third. Tony Jackson Jr. and Jesse Stovall completed the top five.

Seventh- and fifth-place finishes were enough for Jackson to earn the 2013 Lucas Oil MLRA Championship. Travis Dickes claimed rookie-of-the-year honors.

Previous articlePhelps Flies In Fulton 200
Next articleHemric Mounts Late Charge In Dillon is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.