23 Events, 11 Venues For MLRA Racers

Mitch McGrath (74) battles Jake Neal during Saturday's Lucas Oil MLRA event at Dubuque Fairgrounds Speedway. (Mike Ruefer Photo)
The Lucas Oil MLRA series will embark on a 23-event schedule in 2020. (Mike Ruefer Photo)

WHEATLAND, Mo. – Officials from the Lucas Oil Midwest Latemodel Racing Ass’n have set a 23-event schedule for the upcoming season.

The schedule includes 11 different venues across five states.

The schedule will also feature a change in qualifying format, transitioning from the traditional passing points system used in recent years, to time trial qualifying.  Series officials piloted the best of two lap qualifying format in select events this past season and will now use it moving forward at all MLRA sanctioned events.

The season will get under way in traditional fashion on April 10-11 with the running of the seventh annual Spring Nationals at Lucas Oil Speedway in Wheatland, Mo.  An open practice is planned for April 9 before two complete shows take center stage.

For the third consecutive year, weekend two of the season will have teams converging on a pair of Eastern Iowa facilities. April 17 will showcase the historic half-mile facility of Davenport Speedway in a $5,000 to win main event, before teams head south to 34 Raceway in West Burlington, Iowa, for the Slocum 50.

The month of May will find the series making a popular return to Stuart (Iowa) Int’l Speedway. This rare Thursday night event on May 7 will pay $3,000 to win and launch the tour’s first three-day swing of the season. May 8 will take teams back to the familiar Davenport Speedway for the second time in just a matter of weeks.  This second and final visit to Davenport will transition drivers to the confines of the facility’s inner quarter-mile racing surface.  The weekend will conclude on May 9 as teams swap gears and take on the fast half-mile West Liberty Raceway on the grounds of the Muscatine County Fairgrounds.

The Lucas Oil MLRA, along with the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, will conclude the month of May with their biggest weekend of the season, the 28th Annual Show-Me-100 at Lucas Oil Speedway May 21-23.  Severe storms just days prior to the start of the 2019 event resulted in the cancellation of the Memorial Day weekend classic. May 21 will be the first of two qualifying nights, headlined by the $6,000 to win, Cowboy Classic. The Tribute to Don & Billie Gibson is next on May 22, followed by May 23’s Show-Me-100 finale and it’s $30,000 top prize.

Robert Wagener and his team at DRT Trak Racing, Inc. will again welcome drivers and fans on June 13 to an Eastern Iowa facility that will be announced at a later date.  June 14 will mark the series inaugural visit to Rock Island County Fairgrounds in East Moline, Ill.  This quarter-mile high banked oval is currently receiving multiple upgrades by new promoters Peterson Family Promotions.

For the sixth year in a row, the Salina High Banks Speedway in Pryor Creek, Okla., will play host to the Freedom Classic on June 26-27.  This annual pre-4th of July weekend event has historically showcased some of the most exciting racing of the season, and will again offer up a pair of complete shows paying out $3,000 and $5,000 to win respectively.

Teams and drivers will have a short turn-around before returning to action for another trifecta weekend July 2-4. The four-tenths-mile high banked Cresco Speedway will fire off the holiday weekend salute on July 2.

The series will return to  34 Raceway in West Burlington, Iowa, on July 3, followed by a trip to 330 Raceway in Farley, Iowa, on July 4.

On July 10 the series will return to Lakeside Speedway in Kansas City, Kan., for a $3,000-to-win bout. The tour will again team up with the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series on July 18 for the 14th annual Diamond Nationals at Lucas Oil Speedway.

On Sept. 5 the series will be back at Lucas Oil Speedway for the inaugural Ron Jenkins Memorial, a tribute to the original builder of Wheatland Raceway.  Labor day weekend will conclude the following night when the series makes its way to the Quincy Raceways in Quincy, Ill., for the Scottie 45.

The MLRA series championship will again be on the line Oct. 9-10 at the seventh annual Fall Nationals at Lucas Oil Speedway.  A pair of complete shows paying $3,000 and $5,000, respectively, will bring the campaign to a close.

2020 Lucas Oil MLRA Schedule

April 10-11 – Lucas Oil Speedway – Wheatland, Mo.

April 17 – Davenport Speedway – Davenport, Iowa

April 18 – 34 Raceway – West Burlington, Iowa

May 7 – Stuart Int’l Speedway – Stuart, Iowa

May 8 – Davenport Speedway – Davenport, Iowa

May 9 – West Liberty Raceway – West Liberty, Iowa

May 21-23 – Lucas Oil Speedway – Wheatland, Mo.

June 13 – TBA – TBA

June 14 – Rock Island County Fairgrounds – East Moline, Ill.

June 26-27 – Salina Speedway – Pryor, Okla.

July 2 – Cresco Speedway – Cresco, Iowa

July 3 – 34 Raceway – West Burlington, Iowa

July 4 – 300 Raceway – Farley, Iowa

July 10 – Lakeside Speedway – Kansas City, Kan.

July 18 – Lucas Oil Speedway – Wheatland, Mo.

Sept. 5 – Lucas Oil Speedway – Wheatland, Mo.

Sept. 6 – Quincy Raceways – Quincy, Ill.

Oct. 9-10 – Lucas Oil Speedway – Wheatland, Mo.