Moyer And Anderson Conquer Missouri


WHEATLAND, Mo. — Billy Moyer methodically worked his way from 14th-starting spot to win the O’Reilly Midwest Late Model Racing Ass’n event at Lucas Oil Speedway Saturday night.

Dave Eckrich found himself in the lead at the halfway point of the event as Moyer and John Anderson gave chase. As Eckrich began dealing with lapped traffic, Anderson overtook him on lap 34. Moyer slipped past Eckrich, and with two laps left moved below Anderson and pulled away.

Anderson finished second on the three-eighths-mile dirt oval. Eckrich was third ahead of Brad Looney and Terry Phillips.

The finish:
Billy Moyer, John Anderson, Dave Eckrich, Brad Looney, Terry Phillips, Eric Turner, Ricky Frankel, Denny Woodworth, Pat Doar, Rylan Long, Chris Smyser, Mike Collins, Jeremy Payne, Jason Bodenhamer, Al Purkey, Evan Hubert, J.D. Hubert, Joe Kosiski, Mark Voigt, Brantlee Gotschall, Larry Jones, Scott Koskovich, David Turner, Alan Vaughn.

SEDALIA, Mo. — Defending O’Reilly Midwest Late Model Racing Ass’n champion John Anderson captured the AAA Missouri State Championship at Sedalia’s State Fair Speedway Sunday night.

Will Vaught started on the pole and held command of the race until lap 11 when Anderson, who moved into second when Al Purkey broke an axle and Billy Moyer’s entry suffered a flat tire, snatched the lead away.

Vaught got one more shot at Anderson following a caution flag with four laps left, but he was unable to overtake Anderson and finished second on the half-mile dirt oval.

Terry Phillips was third ahead of Al Humphrey and Tony Jackson, Jr.

The finish:
John Anderson, Will Vaught, Terry Phillips, Al Humphrey, Tony Jackson, Jr., Joe Kosiski, Bryant Goldsmith, Billy Moyer, Jeremy Payne, Pat Doar, Matt Johnson, Chris Smyser, Alan Vaughn, Jason Bodenhamer, David Turner, Eric Turner, Larry Clawson, Evan Hubert, Mike Collins, Mark Voigt, Andrew McKay, Al Purkey, Dave Eckrick, Brad Looney.