McIntosh Catches Cabin Fever In Georgia


RINGGOLD, Ga. – Donald McIntosh continued his early-season success by claiming the Cabin Fever 40 and a $3,500 payday on Saturday at Boyd’s Speedway.


The win for McIntosh would come behind the wheel of the Blount Motorsports owned Blount Excavating/Massey Electric/Al Blankenship Enterprises/Cherokee Millwright/Tennessee RV Sales and Service/Stowers CAT Machinery sponsored No. 7 Rocket Chassis powered by a Vic Hill Race Engine. The win by McIntosh was his second of the new race season and saw him become the sixth different winner of the Cabin Fever 40 event.

Dale McDowell would take the early race lead in the 40 lap, $3,500 to win contest, with Donald McIntosh nipping at his heels, while Ethan Hunter, Tyler Millwood, and Michael Page would be in the top five by lap three. McIntosh would continue to pressure McDowell for the point and on lap six would pull alongside of McDowell exiting turn four and the pair would race side-by-side before McIntosh would snag the lead from McDowell at the start/finish line on lap seven.

The first caution of the event would appear on lap nine when Cory Hedgecock’s machine would slow on the frontchute with mechanical issues and have to be assisted back to the pit area. The restart would see McIntosh begin to set a torrid pace at the point and would begin the process of working slower traffic by lap 14. The second and final caution of the event would fly on lap 17 when third place running Page, and fourth place running Millwood would tangle in turn three, with Page having to pull pitside with his car too damaged to continue.

Once action resumed, McIntosh picked up right where he had left off prior to the caution period and was again working slower traffic by lap 23 and by lap 30 had pushed his lead to almost a half-track advantage over McDowell, who was now getting pressured by eighth starting Ray Cook for the runner-up slot. But McIntosh would not be denied on this day as he would continue to work traffic carefully over the final 10 circuits and see the checkered flag first. McDowell would settle for second, while Cook rounded out the podium finishers with a third place effort.

Jason Manley and Todd Hernandez would complete the top five. The remainder of the top ten would be 16th starting Jake Knowles, Riley Hickman, David Brannon, 15th starting Robbie Mason, and 19th starting Derek Ellis.

The finish:

Donald McIntosh, Dale McDowell, Ray Cook, Jason Manley, Todd Hernandez, Jake Knowles, Riley Hickman, David Brannon, Robbie Mason, Derek Ellis, Tyler Millwood, Brian Jackson, Ashton Winger, Lucas Burns, David Gentry, Josh Johnson, Matt Larson, Clint Nichols, Zack Dunsmore, Scott Shelton, Ethan Hunter, Michael Page, Jason Hiett, Cory Hedgecock.