McCreadie Rolls From 17th To $25,650


Owens certainly saw an opportunity to swipe the big money from McCreadie’s grasp.

Tim McCreadie (Jim Denhamer photo)
Tim McCreadie (Jim Denhamer photo)

“Shannon went in there (on the restart) and jumped to the bottom and slid across and I was able to get around him, but I lost a little ground to McCreadie,” said Owens, who made his first dirt late model appearance at Fairbury. “Then (McCreadie) went in there (on lap 98) and jumped the cushion, and I thought, Aw man, I need to be just a little bit closer.

“I got under him there (through turns one and two on the final lap) and thought about putting a slider on him, but I thought best of it.”

Indeed, Owens didn’’t let his car drift directly in front of McCreadie off turn two, and as a result McCreadie was able to step on the gas and beat Owens off the corner.

“Jimmy gave me a lot of room off of two,” McCreadie said. “He could’ve knocked me straight into the catch fence, but he’s a true professional.

Babb, meanwhile, was left to hang on for a fourth-place finish after running the final three circuits with a left front that was cut when he and Owens made contact after the restart. He could only wonder if there was something he could have done different to score a second straight PDC triumph.

“The way it happened, I knew Timmy was gonna come back at me at some point,” Babb said. “When I had the lead I just kind of laid low for a minute. I didn’t run a hundred percent on the cushion – I guess I should’ve just kept going hard, but I didn’t want to make a mistake, jump the cushion and crash myself. It’s a fine line.

“Then we (McCreadie) did get by me (on lap 95), the biggest mistake I made was on that (lap-96) restart when I went to the bottom in one and killed my momentum. I lost a little momentum, and (Owens) pounded. They rolled me, and I ended up getting a flat left front when Owens went across my nose there in four.”

Zeigler quietly snuck back to third at the finish, giving him a career-best WoO LMS outing. He knew his performance could have been better, though.

“That’s experience I guess,” Zeigler said. “I just got out-wheeled tonight, straight up. The middle (lane) just sort of went away halfway through the race when I was leading and I was just too stubborn to get out of it.

“Once I got back to the bottom we were OK, but it took me the rest of the race to get back up there (in contention).”

Ryan Unzicker pocketed $1,500 for winning the 30-lap Prairie Dirt Shootout for PDC non-qualifiers that closed the evening’s action.

At the conclusion of the night, FALS and WoO LMS officials announced that the Prairie Dirt Classic will be run on July 24-25, 2015, and once again pay $25,000 to win.

The finish:

1. (17) Tim McCreadie/100 $25,650

2. (11) Jimmy Owens/100 $10,000

3. (1) Mason Zeigler/100 $6,500

4. (2) Shannon Babb/100 $5,000

5. (3) Darrell Lanigan/100 $4,700

6. (22) Billy Moyer/100 $3,050

7. (6) Jason Feger/100 $2,850

8. (18) Morgan Bagley/100 $3,050

9. (21) Rick Eckert/100 $2,950

10. (8) Eric Wells/100 $2,650

11. (12) Dennis Erb Jr./100 $1,950

12. (27) Chase Junghans/100 $1,100

13. (9) Chris Simpson/100 $1,700

14. (7) Shane Clanton/100 $2,200

15. (20) Jimmy Mars/100 $1,600

16. (24) Frank Heckenast Jr./99 $2,080

17. (16) Brian Birkhofer/99 $1,560

18. (23) Chub Frank/99 $2,090

19. (26) Joe Harlan/99 $1,520

20. (4) Gregg Satterlee/96 $1,500

21. (5) Brian Shirley/88 $1,500

22. (19) Wendell Wallace/65 $1,500

23. (13) Randy Korte/50 $1,500

24. (15) Scott Bull/46 $1,500

25. (10) Jonathan Davenport/42 $1,500

26. (25) Daren Friedman/31 $1,525

27. (14) Tim Fuller/9 $1,500


Previous articleSanders Is Crowned Modified King
Next articleWOO: Autodrome Drummond is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.