Lucky No. 13 For Darrell Lanigan


“There was a couple times I snuck in there and was like ‘Oh my God this is gonna get tight,’” Lanigan said of his run through traffic during the final 20 laps. “But we got enough room to get through and had an unbelievable car.”

Darrell Lanigan and his crew enjoy victory lane at Michigan's Merritt Raceway. (Jim Denhamer photo)
Darrell Lanigan and his crew enjoy victory lane at Michigan’s Merritt Raceway. (Jim Denhamer photo)

Recovering from mechanical issues that forced him out after just one lap of Friday’s WoO LMS A-Main at I-96 Speedway in Lake Odessa, Mich., Brady Smith settled for the runner-up finish in his Big Red Motorsports Rocket Chassis. The solid result marked the 37-year-old standout’s fifth top-five finish in 15 WoO LMS A-Main starts this season.

“He had a little different tire selection than we did,” said Smith, whose highlights in part-time WoO LMS competition this season include a victory during Florida Speedweeks action in February. “Ours was good early, but his was good at the end.

“I was trying to pace myself. We started 10th and I knew we went soft on (right-rear tire). I was trying not to murder the thing early, but I was pretty much the only car running the top of guys in front of me. I just went for it and tried to hold on.”

The finish:

1. (1) Darrell Lanigan/50 $10,650
2. (10) Brady Smith/50 $5,050
3. (4) Dona Marcoullier/50 $3,500
4. (3) Rick Eckert/50 $3,150
5. (2) Clint Smith/50 $2,600
6. (8) Tim McCreadie/50 $2,300
7. (11) Shane Clanton/50 $1,950
8. (15) Tim Fuller/50 $1,400
9. (7) Morgan Bagley/50 $1,750
10. (9) Ryan VanderVeen/50 $1,200
11. (5) Kris Patterson Jr./49 $1,050
12. (16) Eric Wells/49 $1,550
13. (6) Jeep Van Wormer/49 $950
14. (17) Eric Spangler/49 $1,000
15. (14) Mike Spatola/49 $900
16. (24) Kevin Juusole/49 $800
17. (18) Chub Frank/49 $1,320
18. (13) Chase Junghans/49 $1,500
19. (12) Boom Briggs/49 $1,280
20. (23) Herb Reich/47 $700
21. (22) Jordan Erickson/32 $700
22. (20) Curtis Roberts/22 $700
23. (21) Josh Knoll/19 $700
24. (19) Frank Heckenast Jr./9 $1,250


Previous articleWOO: Castrol Raceway
Next articleHagar Triumphs In USCS At Dixie Speedway is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.