USA 100 Next For Lucas Late Models


WAYCROSS, Ga. – The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series returns to action this Friday and Saturday at Bill Sawyer’s Virginia Motor Speedway in Jamaica, Va.

The 33rd Annual USA 100 is on tap with a top prize of $20,000, an increase of $5,000 from last year’s event.

Activity will get underway on Friday night with Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Red Buck Cigars Time Trials followed by two-25 lap qualifying races. On Saturday night, there will be a pair of B-Mains and the 50-lap, $20,000-to-win USA 100 feature event. Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, TN is the defending race winner.

Virginia Motor Speedway will offer fans a great show at very affordable ticket prices at one of the nicest facilities in the country this weekend. Adult two-day tickets are $35.00 while seniors (60+) are $28.00; military (active and retired) are $25; students 7-17 are $15.00 and children Under 6 are FREE. Two-day Pit passes will be $50.00.

The competitor gates open at 3:00 p.m. while the spectator gates swing open at 5:00 p.m. on Friday and 4pm on Saturday. Hot laps are set to start at 6:30 each night.

Reigning Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series National Champion and current points leader Jimmy Owens will lead the roster of stars for the series into this prestigious event.

Joining Owens will be Don O’Neal, Scott Bloomquist, Steve Francis, John Blankenship, Earl Pearson, Jr., Jonathan Davenport, Tyler Reddick, Jared Landers and Eric Wells.

Previous USA 100 winners include: Scott Bloomquist (’11, ’93, ’92); Jonathan Davenport (’10); 2009 – Rainout; Chris Madden (08); Jason Covert (07); Jeremy Miller (06); Steve Lucas (’05, ’99, ’95); Rod Evans (’04); 2003 – no race; 2002 – no race; 2001 – no race; Chuck Harper (’00); Denny Chamberlain (’98); Mike Balzano (’97 and ’87); Henry Hornsby Jr. (’96); Donnie Moran (’94); Billy Moyer (’91); Harold Redman Sr. (’90); Rod Evans and Harold Redman Sr. (Twin 50’s) (’89); Timmy Newman (only 88 laps) (’88); 1986 – no race; 1985 – no race; 1984 – no race; Larry Moore (’83 and ’80); Delmas Conley (’82 and ’79); Dickie Bartusiak (’81); Larry Cantley (’78); Gene McNeely (’77).