Shaver & Bloomquist Share DTWC Front Row


PORTSMOUTH, Ohio — Steve Shaver and Scott Bloomquist will start on the front row of the 33rd annual RED BUCK Dirt Track World Championship presented by Borrowed Blue Saturday night at Portsmouth Raceway Park.

This year’s DTWC drew 79 drivers from 15 states and one Canadian driver all trying to capture the $50,000 first place prize money. This weekend’s crown jewel event will wrap up the 2013 season for the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series.

Six heat races were completed on Friday night with Earl Pearson Jr. passing RED BUCK Fast Qualifier, Brandon Sheppard on the final lap of the first heat race. Pearson a former DTWC winner edged out Sheppard by a nose for the victory. Sheppard had led from the green flag of the 20-lap race until Pearson edge him on lap 19, but Sheppard got back around Pearson going down the backstretch to re-capture the lead. But Pearson got a run off of turn four to beat Sheppard at the line. 2011 DTWC winner, Don O’Neal finish third to earn the final transfer spot from heat one.

In heat race number two Steve Shaver led all the way to capture the 20-lap race and will start from the pole position by virtue of the heat race winner’s re-shuffle for Saturday night’s 100-lap feature event. Shaver will be looking for his first career DTWC victory. Jeep VanWormer took home the second transfer position and Steve Francis, the ’99 winner of the DTWC charged from sixth to take home the third and final transfer spot in heat race number two.

Eric Wells dominated heat race number three leading the entire race pulling away from the field over the course of the 20 laps. Dale McDowell trailed Wells the entire distance to claim the second spot. Will Vaught in his first visit to PRP qualified for his first career DTWC by claiming the third and final transfer spot at the finish.

In the fourth heat race Jackie Boggs would lead the way all 20 laps as the second generation racer would hold off John Blankenship to claim the win. Blankenship would finish second followed by Jason Feger, who took home the third and final transfer spot in heat race number four.

Scott Bloomquist and Eddie Carrier Jr. would put on a fierce battle the entire 20 laps of heat race number five. Carrier led from the green flag but Bloomquist hounded Carrier Jr. until Bloomquist was able to slip by him in traffic on lap 17. With his win in the fifth heat race Bloomquist will start on the outside of the front row with and earned his 22nd consecutive start in the DTWC feature event. Carrier Jr. would finish a close second while 2012 LOLMDS Rookie of the Year, Jonathan Davenport claimed the third and final transfer pot in heat race number five.

In the sixth and final heat race of the night, Billy Moyer held off Jimmy Owens to claim the win. Moyer also won the last LOLMDS sanctioned event at PRP back on Labor Day Weekend this year. Moyer a two-time winner of the DTWC will make his first start in the event since 2005. Owens, who will clinch the 2013 Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series National Championship by just starting the feature event tomorrow night, will be trying to become the first driver in the history of the race to win in back-to back years. Shane Clanton finished third to claim the final transfer position of heat race number six.

In preliminary action, Brandon Sheppard set the overall RED BUCK Fast Time (Group A) among the ¬79 entrants, with a lap of 14.575 seconds.