Qualifying Returns To DTWC


BATAVIA, Ohio — Promoter Carl Short recently announced that the 39th edition of the Dirt Track World Championship Oct. 18-19  at Portsmouth Raceway Park will return to a time trial format for super late models.

Since 2015, a double-heat race format, with a passing-points system, has transferred drivers into the main event.

This year, Friday night will include time trials and a single set of 15-lap heat races with a six-car inversion. Competitors will earn points based on time trials and heat race finishing results. The points accumulated by a specific driver will be added together to create Saturday’s B Main and feature lineups.

Saturday’s on-track action for the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series will include B Mains, followed by a non-qualifier race, where the winner has the choice of keeping their $3,000 winnings, or forfeit their earnings to start tail of the main event.

The 100-lap Dirt Track World Championship finale will cap off the weekend.