Pearson Stops Bloomquist In Cowboy Classic

Earl Pearson Jr. in victory lane at Lucas Oil Speedway.

WHEATLAND, Mo. — Earl Pearson Jr. gained the lead on lap 15 from Jesse Stovall and held off Scott Bloomquist in the final laps to win the Cowboy Classic presented by Hot Rod Processing on Thursday night at Lucas Oil Speedway.

The event was co-sanctioned by the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series and Lucas Oil Midwest Late Model Racing Ass’n.

Pearson kicked off the 25th annual Show-Me 100 weekend with his second LOLMDS win of the season over Bloomquist, Jimmy Owens, Tim McCreadie and Mike Marlar.

It was a very competitive race from start to finish as Pearson withstood a lap 39 restart challenge from Bloomquist, who had pulled even with Pearson several times in the final six laps but could never clear him.

“That was a heck of a race,” said Pearson. “Stovall was good early on the top. We were trying to find a spot on the track to be consistent at. The car kept moving around. The traffic was tough, but everybody gave each other plenty of room to pass. I didn’t want to see that last caution. I saw on the scoreboard that Scott [Bloomquist] was behind us. I knew he wouldn’t try a slide job and take both of us out. He drove us clean. He got beside me there several times, but my car was better into three and four than his.”

Bloomquist who started on the pole, finished second in his Crop Production Services, Reece Monument Co., and Mark Martin Automotive-sponsored Sweet-Bloomquist entry.

“I knew I was a sitting duck when they went out and worked the top of the track,” Bloomquist said. “I waited a few laps too late to get going. I lost two positions there at the start. I could finally go to the middle and top and gained back those spots that I lost. It was a good race there among the four of us. A lot of front tires I think we’re giving up there late in the race. We will be ready for Saturday night.”

Owens was in the hunt coming on to finish in third place.

“This Ramirez Motorsports car was really good tonight,” he said. “It took us a while to get going. We caught those guys up front after [Tim] McCreadie and I had a good race going on there. We just have the right set-up for this track that is why we have been so successful here in the past. We will come back tomorrow night and get better and then get ready for 100 laps on Saturday Night.”

The finish:

Earl Pearson Jr., Scott Bloomquist, Jimmy Owens, Tim McCreadie, Mike Marlar, Darrell Lanigan, Bobby Pierce, Gregg Satterlee, Mason Zeigler, Billy Moyer Jr., Payton Looney, Logan Martin, Dave Eckrich, Rodney Sanders, Billy Moyer, Steve Francis, Chris Simpson, Tony Jackson Jr., Chase Junghans, Don O’Neal, Tim Manville, Dennis Erb Jr., Jesse Stovall, Jason Rauen.