Pearson & Erb Star In Batesville Drills


LOCUST GROVE, Ark. — Four-time Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series National Champion, Earl Pearson Jr. and Dennis Erb Jr. will make up the front row for Saturday night’s Bad Boy 98 at Batesville Motor Speedway.

The two veteran drivers captured wins in heats one and three during Friday’s preliminary action of the $20,000-to-win event.

Pearson was the fastest qualifier among the 40 entrants and led wire-to-wire in the first heat. He helmed the Bobby Labonte Racing, Lucas Oil Products -sponsored Longhorn Chassis Chevrolet during the heat. Current LOLMDS point’s leader, Don O’Neal slipped back to third at the start of the 12-lap race, but recovered to finish second. Other transfers from the Wiles Drives Driveshafts first heat were first-time Batesville visitor, Eddie Carrier Jr. and Chris Simpson.

In the second heat race, defending COMP Cams Topless 100 winner, Steve Francis soared to the win. Brady Smith, last week’s LOLMDS winner at LaSalle, finished second. Jared Landers finished third followed by Jesse Stovall.

Dennis Erb Jr. raced to the victory in heat three. Bobby Pierce, in his Batesville debut was running second, until he slowed and went pitside. John Blankenship rallied late to finish second. Timothy Culp earned the third spot just ahead of Tyler Reddick.

Wendell Wallace dominated the fourth heat, taking the win. Jimmy Mars and Eric Jacobsen had a fierce battle for second the entire distance, with Mars edging Jacobsen at the stripe. Hall of Famer, Billy Moyer grabbed the fourth and final transfer spot from his son late in the race. Scott Bloomquist was running second and suffered the same fate as Bobby Pierce, early in the heat.

In preliminary action, Pearson Jr. set the overall time (Group A) among the 40 entrants, with a lap of 13.679 seconds.