Pearson Chases Down Bloomquist In Georgia

Earl Pearson Jr. (1) races under Jonathan Davenport Saturday at Golden Isles Speedway. (Jim DenHamer photo)

WAYNESVILLE, Ga. — Earl Pearson Jr. ran down Scott Bloomquist and took the lead on lap 33 en route to victory during the Rhino Ag Super Bowl of Racing presented by General Tire on Saturday night at Golden Isles Speedway.

Pearson, the four-time series champion, won for the 38th time in his Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series career. He leaves Golden Isles with the series points lead heading to East Bay Raceway Park next week.

Jonathan Davenport finished second in the main event and trails Pearson by 30 points in the championship chase.

Bloomquist started on the pole and led 23 laps during the feature, ultimately claiming third. Tyler Erb, who won the afternoon event, took fourth, and Brandon Sheppard rounded out the top five.

In a race that saw three different leaders, Jimmy Owens led the first nine laps of the race until Bloomquist forged ahead of him. The two frontrunners then made contact with Owens spinning and getting collected along with Josh Richards.

With Bloomquist solidly in front and seemingly pulling away, Pearson, who started fifth began to close the gap on the three-time series champion. Pearson tracked down Bloomquist using the high-side of the race track passing him on the outside coming off of turn two on lap 33. Pearson then saw the race go caution-free until the checkers as he went to victory lane for the first-time in 2019.

Earl Pearson Jr. (Jim DenHamer photo)

In Lucas Oil Victory Lane, Pearson first mentioned his car owner Ronnie Stuckey.

“He’s been awful sick the past few months,” Pearson said. “This one’s for him. It’s always great to win here for my home fans. Me, Scott [Bloomquist] and [Jonathan] Davenport had a heck of a race.

“Scott just got caught up there with all the lapped traffic. Our car has been good all weekend. Thanks to Lucas Oil and Sunoco and all my guys who came out to help with weekend. It’s a dream come true to win here again at Brunswick. I have seen so many guys that I used to race with down here. It is kind of like a home coming for us.”

Davenport who led the series with nine wins a year ago came home in second after starting alongside Pearson in row three.

“Running the top just seemed to kill our tires,” Davenport said. “My tires got so hot I almost felt like I was getting a flat tire. I had to get off the top and get back down on the track. I cooled my tires off and then got back up top.”

Completing the top 10 were Don O’Neal, Dennis Erb Jr., Gregg Satterlee, Chase Junghans and Jason Jameson.

The finish:

Earl Pearson Jr., Jonathan Davenport, Scott Bloomquist, Tyler Erb, Brandon Sheppard, Don O’Neal, Dennis Erb Jr., Gregg Satterlee, Chase Junghans, Jason Jameson, Shanon Buckingham, Brandon Overton, Devin Moran, Josh Richards, Tim McCreadie, Steven Roberts, Hudson O’Neal, Jeff Mathews, Ryan King, Morgan Bagley, Jimmy Owens, Ivedent Lloyd Jr., Kyle Bronson, Matt Cosner.