Owens Rules Attica Late Model Contest


ATTICA, Ohio — Jimmy Owens continued his stronghold on the series with his seventh victory on Friday night at Attica Raceway Park.

He took the lead on lap six and led the rest of the way, pocketing $10,000 for the win. Brian Birkhofer came home in second, followed by Earl Pearson Jr., John Blankenship, and Steve Francis.

“I have to thank all these great fans for coming out tonight! This is our first time here, and we really like this place,” said Owens. “We had a super car all night long! I think the first two finishers picked the same tire compound to run and it paid off.”

Owens made a daring move to the inside of the track on the opening lap to take the lead from Russ King and Birkhofer. King fought back and took the lead from Owens on lap three and led the race for three circuits until Owens got back by him. King then held the second spot, using the top groove on the race track.

Birkhofer got by King for second on lap 12 and stayed there for the remainder of the race.

Birkhofer was in the ASi Racewear, MB Customs Chevrolet and was racing for the first time in three weeks after breaking his hand last month. “We didn’t have anything for Jimmy tonight; he was too strong,” Birkhofer said. “To come here after being off for so long and to run well with these guys felt really good. I will probably sleep pretty well tonight. It’s going to be a long weekend.”

In preliminary action, Brian Birkhofer set the overall time (Group A) amongst the 31 entrants, with a lap of 14.750 seconds. Jeff Babcock set the fastest time in Group B with a time of 14.949 seconds.

The finish:

Jimmy Owens, Brian Birkhofer, Earl Pearson Jr., John Blankenship, Steve Francis, Russ King, Dennis Erb Jr., Billy Moyer, Jeff Babcock, Eddie Carrier Jr., Rusty Schlenk, Doug Drown, Billy Moyer Jr., Jared Landers, Matt Irey, Casey Noonan, Jason Jaggers, Jon Henry, Ryan Markham, Jason Feger, Mike Bores, Garrett Krummert, Ryan Missler, D.J. Miller.