Owens Cops Show-Me 100 Glory


WHEATLAND, Mo. — Jimmy Owens held off Scott Bloomquist at the finish line to win the 19th Annual DART Show-Me 100 Presented by Lucas Oil Products on Saturday night at Lucas Oil Speedway.

Owens took home $30,000 for the victory in his Mike Reece-owned entry. Owens nearly gave away the win on the final lap when he pushed up the track in turn four, barely managing to hold off Bloomquist at the line to win by one-half car length in the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt and Lucas Oil MLRA sanctioned event.

“That was one tremendous race from start to finish, the car was great all 100 laps. When I got by O’Neal, I knew we had a real good chance to win, but I nearly gave it away there in turn four. The car pushed up the track and he (Bloomquist) was right there, and I was afraid I had just thrown the $30,000 out the window,” said the 39-year-old, who picked up his first win in the Memorial Day weekend crown jewel event.

Owens led three different times during the race; he led the first six laps of the race until Dan Schlieper took over the lead on a restart. Schlieper held the lead until Owens set up the veteran driver and maneuvered around him on lap 19. Don O’Neal then made the topside work to his advantage as he sailed around Owens to take over the lead on lap 38. O’Neal, Owens, and Bloomquist then pulled away from the field as the trio battled through heavy traffic. O’Neal continued to lead the field for most of the race as he held off several attempts from Owens.

Owens was finally able to overhaul O’Neal for the lead on lap 83. With 12 laps to go, a caution came out for Jared Landers, who was running fourth, setting up a showdown between Owens, Bloomquist, and O’Neal.

Owens darted away from the others, holding a two-car length lead over Bloomquist for most of the final circuits. It all came down to the last turn as Bloomquist made a final charge to overtake Owens; but it was Owens at the finish line after nearly slipping up in turn four on the final circuit. A late surge from Steve Casebolt vaulted the Rockstar Energy Drink/Makita Tools MasterSbilt into third place.

Rounding out the top five were Brian Birkhofer and Chris Brown.

John Blankenship was fast qualifier for the 82-car field.

The finish:

Jimmy Owens, Scott Bloomquist, Steve Casebolt, Brian Birkhofer, Chris Brown, Don O’Neal, Steve Francis, Scott James, Ray Cook, Jared Landers, Chip Brindle, Brad Neat, Mike Marlar, Darren Miller, Dale McDowell, Tyler Reddick, Dan Schlieper, John Blankenship, Kent Robinson, Eric Wells, Chris Wall, Jonathan Davenport, Earl Pearson, Jr., Dennis Erb, Jr., Ronny Lee Hollingsworth, Bub McCool, Jesse Stovall, Terry Phillips, Tony Jackson, Jr., Al Purkey.


Previous articleDover Inherits King Memorial Win
Next articleWOO: The Dirt Track at Charlotte
SPEEDSPORT.com is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.