Owens Conquers Hagerstown Oval


HAGERSTOWN, Md. — Jimmy Owens won his second consecutive Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series sanctioned event Saturday night at Hagerstown Speedway.

Owens took the lead on lap five passing Steve Francis and paced the field the rest of the way to become the eighth different winner in eight LOLMDS appearances at Hagerstown Speedway.

Earl Pearson Jr. advanced from his seventh starting position to finish second followed by Vic Coffey, Steve Francis and 18th-starting Gregg Satterlee.

“It’s a new car that we have only run four or five races with it this year,” said Owens. “We were a little worried early on this year but we got the kinks worked out of it and it seems to be really fast. We have never really run that well here so to come here tonight and get this win is great for our whole team.

“The track was racy and we had a good battle with Francis early on before we were able to pull away towards the end.”

Steve Francis led the first four circuits, until Owens, who started third passed Francis for the lead on lap five and built a straightaway lead at times. Earl Pearson Jr. moved up to second during the early stages of the feature but could not find enough to over-take Owens.

Pearson kept within striking distance of Owens as a couple of lapped cars kept Owens from lengthening his lead during the late stages of the event. Pearson closed to a few car lengths of Owens, but his momentum was slowed by a lapped car that prevented him from making a late-race run at Owens.

Pearson, who started seventh, was extremely happy with his second-place finish. “Jimmy was dominant here tonight and we really didn’t have anything for him,” Pearson explained. “We were running second to Jimmy in Texas and felt like we had a car to win there until we broke. To come here and get second and show that we have a good car feels good and that will help us in the points.”

In preliminary action, Marvin Winters set the overall Time (Group A) amongst the 34 entrants, with a lap of 19.402 seconds.

Rick Singleton won the companion RUSH late model feature.

The finish:

Jimmy Owens, Earl Pearson Jr., Vic Coffey, Steve Francis, Gregg Satterlee, Dan Stone, Steve Shaver, Billy Moyer Jr., John Blankenship, Eddie Carrier Jr., Jamie Lathroum, Marvin Winters, Scott Bloomquist, Nick Dickson, D.J. Myers, Dennis Erb Jr., J.T. Spence, Bobby Pierce, Kenny Pettyjohn, Jared Landers, Don O’Neal, Austin Hubbard, Brian Birkhofer, Gary Stuhler, Jerry Lierly, Brian Tavenner.