Owens Banks $30,000 Show-Me Prize

Jimmy Owens after winning the Show-Me 100.
Jimmy Owens after winning the Show-Me 100.

WHEATLAND, Mo. — Jimmy Owens’ dominance of Lucas Oil Speedway continued on Saturday night as the veteran driver notched his third consecutive Lucas Oil Show-Me 100 Presented by ProtectTheHarvest.com.

Owens took the lead on lap 11 from Scott Bloomquist and was virtually unchallenged the rest of the way, picking up the $30,000 for his win in the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series and Lucas Oil Midwest Racing Association co-sanctioned event.

Owens now has won six races at the track since 2010. Chris Simpson came home in second; his best career finish in a crown-jewel event. Dennis Erb Jr. charged from 20th to take third. Brady Smith also made his way to a top five finish, grabbing fourth after starting 22nd. Chad Simpson would round out the top five, climbing from 24th to fifth at the finish.

“I have to thank Lucas Oil, Forrest Lucas, everybody with the series and this speedway, this is an awesome facility and to win this race three years in a row, I don’t know what to say,” said the two-time and reigning series champion. “Scott (Bloomquist) and I had a really good race for the lead early on, and once I cleared him I pretty much felt like if the car held together it would be our race.”

Owens had to survive a first lap melee in turn two when several drivers got together, forcing a restart.

“I thought we were in big trouble there. It was little slimy and Don (O’Neal) got sideways. It wasn’t anyone’s fault, but fortunately we had some quarter-panel and door damage. Nothing got into the tires or suspension,” said the winner, who maintains the LOLMDS points lead after his fourth series win of 2013.

Chris Simpson, who was also involved in that first lap incident, maintained his position at the start and he steadily climbed through the field. Simpson took the second spot from Bloomquist inside of 20 laps to go, and with a final caution with only nine laps to go, he took one last shot at his first career crown jewel win.

“I thought maybe I had a chance there at the end, but he got out of turn two better than me and that was all she wrote,” Simpson said. “We are happy with this finish, to finish second in this magnitude of a race means a lot to me and my race team.”

Erb, coming off of heartbreak last week at Batesville, needed a good finish.

“Yes we really needed this run tonight, we had bad luck last week while leading at Batesville,” Erb said. “It feels good to run up front with these guys, and to come home in third is awesome.”

In preliminary action, Scott Bloomquist set the overall time (Group A) amongs the 72 entrants, with a lap of 14.902 seconds.

The finish:

Jimmy Owens, Chris Simpson, Dennis Erb Jr., Brady Smith, Chad Simpson, Steve Francis, Mike Marlar, Tony Jackson Jr., Scott Bloomquist, Jason Feger, Terry Phillips, Brian Birkhofer, Tyler Reddick, Eric Jacobsen, John Blankenship, Jared Landers, Earl Pearson Jr., Billy Moyer Jr., Eddie Carrier Jr., Jerry Lierly, John Anderson, Don O’Neal, Jeremy Payne, Jimmy Mars, Will Vaught, Eric Turner, Bobby Pierce, Billy Moyer, Brian Shirley, Jesse Stovall, Tim Isenberg, Steve Shaver.