Owens Banks $20,000 In Jackson 100


BROWNSTOWN, Ind. — Jimmy Owens solidified his point lead in the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series by sweeping the weekend at Brownstown Speedway as the defending series champion took home $20,000 for winning the 33rd annual Jackson 100 on Saturday night.

Owens led all 100 laps Industrial Solutions Technology LLC sponsored event.

Steve Francis was the only car capable of staying with Owens early on in the race, but Owens’ margin of victory was nearly half-a-lap at the finish. Francis finished third, just ahead of four-time Jackson 100 winner Scott Bloomquist, who placed third. Mike Marlar survived a spirited battle with Earl Pearson Jr. and Don O’Neal to claim fourth.

Owens, who started off the weekend by setting fast time on Friday, withstood a side-by-side battle with Terry Casey in the first heat to earn the pole starting spot. Owens took the lead at the start of the race with pressure from Francis for the first 24 laps, until the first caution came out.

The restart for Owens was beneficial because he had reached lapped traffic and that was allowing Francis to stay close. Pearson, who started ninth, climbed into third, and was in the hunt. He began battling Francis for third.

There were three more cautions in the race past the halfway mark, but none could slow Owens. Pearson got by Francis for second on lap 63 and held that position until Francis was able to get back around him on a lap-72 restart.

Owens continued to stretch his lead out over Francis in the final 25 circuits as he went on to capture his fifth Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series race of the season and his 34th all-time in series competition. He joins Hall of Famers Bloomquist and Jeff Purvis as fellow Tennesseans to win the prestigious event.

“The car was great all weekend, from the time we unloaded it, the track was good all night, it took a while to get going. I know it was cold out here, but the crew picked the right tires and I just drove it, we had no problems whatsoever” said Owens.

In preliminary action, Jimmy Owens set the Red Buck Fast Time amongst the 40 entrants, with a lap of 15.281 seconds. Jared Landers set the fastest time in Group B with a time of 15.563 seconds.

The finish:

Jimmy Owens, Steve Francis, Scott Bloomquist, Mike Marlar, Earl Pearson Jr., Don O’Neal, Jared Landers, Terry Casey, Eric Wells, Billy Moyer Jr., Scott James, John Blankenship, Shelby Miles, Jeremy Hines, Tyler Reddick, Greg Johnson, Jonathan Davenport, Joe Janowski, Tim Rivers, Brian Birkhofer, Dustin Neat, Dustin Linville, Brad Neat, Shannon Babb, Mike Jewell.