Owens Among 44 Knoxville Late Model Pre-Entries

Jimmy Owens won the 2018 edition of the Lucas Oil Late Model Knoxville Nationals. (Mike Ruefer photo)

KNOXVILLE, Iowa — The 16th annual Lucas Oil Late Model Knoxville Nationals is this Thursday through Saturday at Knoxville Raceway.

The best dirt late model racers in the country have filed entries to compete in the $40,000-to-win extravaganza.

Headlining the list of entrants is defending winner Jimmy Owens from Newport, Tenn. Owens took the lead from Brandon Sheppard on lap 41 and powered to victory in last year’s 100-lap event.

It was the first victory in the Lucas Oil Late Model Knoxville Nationals for the three-time Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series champion.

Owens is joined on the entry list by five other Lucas Oil Late Model Knoxville Nationals winners, including two-time champions Scott Bloomquist, Mike Marlar and Brian Birkhofer as well as one-time winners Billy Moyer and Brian Shirley.

Also on the entry list is the aforementioned Sheppard, who is having one of the best seasons of his career. He’s already won the Dirt Million at Mansfield (Ohio) Motor Speedway and has 18 World of Outlaws Morton Buildings Late Model Series wins this season.

Joining Sheppard is his Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series counterpart Jonathan Davenport. Fresh off his victory in Saturday’s World 100 at Ohio’s Eldora Speedway, Davenport will be looking to add to his bank account, as he has won 15 late model features this season.

Other notables on the entry list include Chris Madden, who is back in a second Scott Bloomquist Racing entry, Earl Pearson Jr., Tyler Erb, Josh Richards, Shane Clanton, Dennis Erb Jr., Bobby Pierce and Hudson O’Neal.

Below is the full entry list as of Monday afternoon at 3 p.m. EST

0 – Scott Bloomquist, Mooresburg, TN
0m – Chris Madden, Gray Court, SC
1 – Earl Pearson, Jr., Hilliard, FL
1c – Chad Simpson, Mt. Vernon, IA
1d – Devin Moran, Dresden, OH
1e – Tyler Erb, St. Marys, OH
1m – Michael Mataragas, Sycamore, IL
1s – Brandon Sheppard, New Berlin, IL
1st – Johnny Scott, Las Cruces, NM
2s – Stormy Scott, Las Cruces, NM
3s – Brian Shirley, Chatham, IL
4 – J.C. Wyman, Griswold, IA
5 – Don O’Neal, Martinsville, IN
5n – Dustin Nobbe, Batesville, IN
7 – Ricky Weiss, Headingley, MB Canada
8 – Kyle Strickler, Moorseville, NC
10 – Jr. Coover, Norfolk, NE
14 – Josh Richards, Shinnston, WV
15b – Brian Birkhofer, Farley, IA
16 – Tyler Bruening, Decorah, IA
18 – Shannon Babb, Moweaqua, IL
18j – Chase Junghans, Manhattan, KS
20 – Jimmy Owens, Newport, TN
21 – Billy Moyer, Sr., Batesville, AR
21jr – Billy Moyer, Jr., Batesville, AR
22 – Gregg Satterlee, Indiana, PA
25 – Shane Clanton, Zebulan, GA
25e – Dave Eckrich, Oxford, IA
28 – Dennis Erb, Jr., Carpentersville, IL
32 – Bobby Pierce, Oakwood, IL
32S – Chris Simpson, Oxford, IA
33 – Nick Marolf, Moscow, IA
40b – Kyle Bronson, Brandon, FL
43 – Jeremy Grady, Story City, IA
44w – David Webster, Monroe, WI
48 – Tim Lance, Oakwood, IL
49 – Jonathan Davenport, Pelzer, SC
50 – Shannon Buckingham, Morristown, TN
51 – Matt Furman, Iowa City, IA
54 – Mike Fryer, Freeport, IL
58 – Jeremiah Hurst, Dubuque, IA
71 – Hudson O’Neal, Morgantown, IN
99jr – Frank Heckenast, Jr., Frankfort, IL
157 – Mike Marlar, Winfield, TN

It’s the last fling before spring! Experience the world’s best late model racing at Knoxville Raceway’s Lucas Oil Late Model Nationals! Thursday, Sept. 12th through Saturday, Sept. 14th. Get your tickets today!