New Generation Moran Rules Zanesville


ZANESVILLE, Ohio — Devin Moran led all 50 laps in a hotly contested Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Budweiser 50 on Wednesday night at Muskingum County Speedway.

The 18-year-old son of Hall of Fame driver, Donnie Moran charged ahead of the pack and delivered a career-best $10,000 victory.

The second-generation racer crossed the finish line to the cheers of the home-track crowd just as his dad flipped in turn number two. The elder Moran escaped the flip uninjured and joined his son in victory lane. Earl Pearson Jr. finished second followed by Doug Drown, Steve Francis and John Blankenship.

“I can’t believe it, I can’t thank my dad and grandpa enough for all of their support,” Moran said. “This is a dream come true to win one of these Lucas Oil races! These guys are the best of the best, and to win here on my home track is super special.

“The car was really good in one and two, but at one point, I thought I had given it away. I hit a rut and it almost took me over the bank in turn four. There were a lot of cautions and it was nerve-wracking, but the car handled so well all night. Hopefully, one day we can run this Lucas Oil Series full-time. I have to thank all the fans who came out tonight and survived the rain.”

In preliminary action, Earl Pearson Jr. set the overall time (Group A) amongst the 35 entrants, with a lap of 15.130 seconds.

The finish:

Devin Moran, Earl Pearson Jr., Doug Drown, Steve Francis, John Blankenship, Don O’Neal, Eddie Carrier Jr., Jimmy Owens, Dennis Erb Jr., Zack Dohm, Billy Moyer Jr., Donnie Moran, Jerry Lierly, Josh McGuire, Wayne Chinn, Rod Conley, Jason Papich, Jacob Hawkins, Mike Marlar, Jared Hawkins, Todd Brennan, R.J. Conley, Joe Ramey, Steve Prince.