Marlar & McDowell Claim Topless Front Row


LOCUST GROVE, Ark. – Mike Marlar and Dale McDowell will start on the front row of Saturday’s 21st Annual COMP Cams Topless 100 presented by Crop Production Services.

The $40,000-to-win Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series sanctioned event at Batesville Motor Speedway drew 55 entries for Friday night’s preliminary action.

Marlar captured the RED BUCK Fast Time award after Don O’Neal’s car weighed in 25 pounds light. Marlar took full advantage of O’Neal’s misfortune and led every lap of the first heat to earn the pole starting position. Terry Phillips had a strong second place finish, followed by current JRi Shocks Rookie of the Year candidate, Billy Moyer Jr.

Current LOLMDS point’s leader and 2009 COMP Cams Topless 100 winner, Jimmy Owens dominated heat number two. Owens and eventual runner-up Chris Madden ran side-by-side for a couple of laps until Owens pulled away. Madden took home second to earn a spot in Saturday’s main event. Wendell Wallace came home third.

Four-time COMP Cams Topless 100 champion, Scott Bloomquist walked away with heat number three to earn the fifth starting position for Saturday Night’s finale. Bloomquist became the third driver to win a heat in a Team Zero by Bloomquist car. Earl Pearson, Jr. finished second, followed by former LOLMDS Rookie of the Year, Chris Wall.

Former COMP Cams Topless 100 winner, Dale McDowell, went wire-to-wire as he won the fourth heat. Billy Moyer claimed the second spot. Erb took third place.

Jesse Stovall made his presence known by capturing the fifth heat. Mars finished second, and Shirley nailed down the third and final transfer position. The sixth and final heat race was taken by 17-year-old Tyler Reddick. John Blankenship fought hard to get the second spot, and finished just ahead of Kyle Beard.

In preliminary action, Mike Marlar set the overall time (Group A) amongst the 55 entrants, with a lap of 13.899 seconds. Billy Moyer set the fastest time in Group B with a time of 14.146 seconds. Mike Marlar, Jimmy Owens, Scott Bloomquist, Dale McDowell, Jesse Stovall, and Tyler Reddick won their respective heat races.