Jimmy Owens Gets Back On Track


MARKLEYSBURG, Pa. — Jimmy Owens dominated the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series event on Friday night at Roaring Knob Motorsports Complex.

Owens took the lead at the start of the 50-lap event and went unchallenged for the $10,000 payday. Owens’ sixth series win of the season vaulted him back on top of the series standings.

Jeremy Miller had his best career LOLMDS finish in second. Steve Francis was third followed Earl Pearson, Jr. and Eddie Carrier, Jr.

“The crew has been working their tails off lately. We gambled on tires and the car was good all night. We qualified a lot better, which allowed us to win our heat race. We got some timely cautions out there and lapped traffic was not a factor for us tonight,” said the two-time and defending LOLMDS champion. “I have to thank my car owner Mike Reece; he just bought us a new truck and trailer. I’ve got to give a special thanks to Reece Monument Company, Gantte Appraisals, Hypercoil Springs, Sunoco, Red Line Oil, and Ohlins.”

From the start, Miller and Francis ran side-by side for several circuits. Miller held the second spot for the first nine circuits until Francis got by him. Those two drivers had a terrific race all night, with Miller coming back to pass Francis on lap 27. He never relinquished the spot the remainder of the race.

“To come here and have a finish like this against these Lucas Oil guys sure feels good! Steve and I had a great battle there, and we didn’t touch the entire race. The tire rule really helped us tonight, everything just fell into place. I have to thank Rocket Chassis and everybody associated with our team. We’ve only ran about 13 races this year, and tomorrow night we will head to Hagerstown,” said Miller.

Francis talked about the duel he had with Miller all race long and Owens’ dominance, “Jimmy was clearly the best of the field tonight. Jeremy raced me cleaned and gave me the bottom all race long. We were a little too free in the corners, but it was another good finish for our team. I don’t know what happened to John (Blankenship), but this point’s battle is going to be tight up until the end of the season.”

In preliminary action, Davey Johnson set the overall time (Group A) amongst the 36 entrants, with a lap of 15.579 seconds. Gregg Satterlee set the fastest time in Group B with a time of 15.914 seconds.

The finish:

Jimmy Owens, Jeremy Miller, Steve Francis, Earl Pearson Jr., Eddie Carrier Jr., Gregg Satterlee, Dan Stone, Austin Hubbard, Vic Coffey, Don O’Neal, Dennis Erb Jr., Billy Moyer Jr., Mason Zeigler, Steve Shaver, Keith Barbara, Scott Rhodes, Jared Landers, Dan Angelicchio, Cody Hardesty, John Blankenship, Tim Senic, Jard Hawkins, Jamie Lathroum, Ron DeLano Jr., Davey Johnson.




Previous articlePhilo Masters Attica Sprint
Next articleJohnson Masters Dodge City Field
SPEEDSPORT.com is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.