Jimmy Owens Banks $50,000 DTWC


PORTSMOUTH, Ohio — Jimmy Owens put an exclamation point on the final race of the season, winning the $50,000 to win 32nd Red Buck Dirt Track World Championship presented by Borrowed Blue Saturday night at Portsmouth Raceway Park.

Owens came into the crown jewel event already having clinched the 2012 Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series title.

Owens took the lead from defending DTWC winner Don O’Neal on lap two and led the rest of the way to become the 23rd different driver to capture one of the sport’s most prestigious events.

Scott Bloomquist came home second, followed by O’Neal, Josh Richards and local driver Ben Adkins.

“I don’t know what to say, putting my name on that trophy with all the great drivers that have won this race, means a lot to me and my crew. I have to thank my car owner, Mike Reece, we got together in 2007 and it’s been a tremendous relationship since,” said the 40-year-old. “I have to thank my crew we went with the right tire choice, the Cornett Engine ran strong and our goal was to win this race one day and we got it done.”

Owens’ seventh Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series victory of the year came aboard the Reece Monument Company, Gantte Appraisals, Red Line Oil, Midwest Sheet Metal, Sunoco Race Fuels, C&C Trucking, Hoosier Tires, Keyser, and Ohlins sponsored Bloomquist Race Cars Ford.

Owens led the field through heavy traffic on several occasions, but timely cautions allowed a clear track in front of him on the restarts. Bloomquist tried to track down Owens in the final laps, but could never get closer than two car lengths.

“Jimmy ran a good race, congrats to him. Don has had a great year as well, it just tells you the strength of this series,” said Bloomquist a two-time series champion. “We went with a harder left rear tire than anybody, but we just couldn’t get up to challenge Jimmy.”

O’Neal caught Owens and Bloomquist in the late stages of the race, but settled for third. “Jimmy did a great job, I thought maybe I could get by Scott, but neither one of them slipped out of the groove, our car was just too loose, but we finished the season strong,” O’Neal said.

Bloomquist set the RedBuck Fast Time among the 94 entrants, with a lap of 14.735 seconds.

The finish:

Jimmy Owens, Scott Bloomquist, Don O’Neal, Josh Richards, Ben Adkins, Earl Parson Jr., Steve Francis, R.J. Conley, Eddie Carrier Jr., Mike Marlar, Ray Cook, Steve Shaver, Eric Wells, Chub Frank, Jimmy Mars, Jared Landers, Brady Smith, Jared Miley, John Blankenship, Jackie Boggs, Jonathan Davenport, Dale McDowell, Zack Dohm, Josh McGuire, Tyler Reddick, Delmas Conley.