It’s All Bloomquist At Portsmouth

Scott Bloomquist

PORTSMOUTH, Ohio — Scott Bloomquist returned to victory lane on Friday night at Portsmouth Raceway Park.

Bloomquist, in the Ole Smoky Moonshine, Sweet-Bloomquist Ford, led all 50 laps in winning his third Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series feature of the season, beating three-time champion Jimmy Owens by two car lengths.

“I was worried we had gone too soft on tires for the feature,” Bloomquist said. “There were other cars that went harder on tires for 50 laps. I think if it had been longer than 50 laps we would have still been ok. After the night we had last night, my crew worked their tails off the last night and this morning getting this car ready. Our car fired off really well after those early restarts. Traffic wasn’t too much of a problem. I didn’t know how close those other guys were.”

Bloomquist broke a tie with for most all-time wins in series history. Bloomquist now has 49 victories in LOLMDS competition.

Owens started sixth and was in a mix of drivers who battled early on in the top five. Owens climbed to third by lap 31. Owens then caught the second place running Boggs and the two had a spirited race for the runner-up spot for several laps. Owens overhauled Boggs for second with eight laps to go.

Owens then tried to chase down Bloomquist in the closing circuits. With his sights set on Bloomquist, Owens had to contend with some lapped traffic, which was running his line. Owens was able to get passed the lapped car and closed rapidly on Bloomquist over the final two laps. Owens march to the front came up just short at the finish line as Bloomquist took the checkers first.

“We had to work for that finish,” said Owens. “There was a heck of battle between about four or five of us there for a while. When I caught Jackie, he and I went back-and-forth for a long time. When I got by him (Boggs), I didn’t think I had enough laps to catch Scott. He was well out in front. But to come from sixth like we did was a good point’s night and we will head to 201 tomorrow. We have never raced there, and we are looking forward to it.”

Boggs was in the thick of things all race long as the second-generation driver came up short in his quest for his second LOLMDS win at PRP.

“To run third with these guys, that’s a good thing,” Boggs said. “Our car was pushing a little bit more than I would have liked near the end. We had a good car, but just not good enough. To beat these guys everything has to go right for you. If you are off by a little bit it makes a big difference.”

Steve Francis set the overall Miller Welders Fast Time (Group A) amongst the 34 entrants, with a lap of 15.302 seconds.

The finish:

Scott Bloomquist, Jimmy Owens, Jackie Boggs, Duane Chamberlain, Steve Francis, John Blankenship, Earl Pearson Jr., Eddie Carrier Jr., Don O’Neal, Rick Eckert, Jason Papich, Tim Dohm, Rod Conley, Greg Oliver, R.J. Conley, Delmas Conley, Dennis Erb Jr., Jared Landers, Jason Hughes, J.T. Conley, Shannon Thornsberry, Tommy Bailey, Craig Vosbergen, Dustin Linville, Ben Adkins.

Previous articleJo Jo Helberg Wins Another One
Next articleGardner Goes On Perris Dirt is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.