Hudson O’Neal Takes Rain-Shortened Win At Florence

Hudson O'Neal celebrates in victory lane after winning Wednesday night at Florence Speedway. (LOLMDS photo)

UNION, Ky. – Hudson O’Neal picked up his second Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series win of the season on Wednesday night during the 32nd annual Ralph Latham Memorial at Florence Speedway.

O’Neal took control on lap six from Kyle Bronson and held the point until rain started to fall just a few laps shy of the halfway mark. Competitors were sent to their pits under a weather delay, returning shortly thereafter to complete the shortened race’s final three circuits.

When the race resumed, O’Neal outran Tyler Erb to score the $12,000 victory. Gregg Satterlee, Bobby Pierce and Josh Richards completed the top five.

“Man, I kept waiting on the rain and for it to end. I didn’t know we were only going to run three laps when we came back out. It would have been nice for the fans to get all 50 laps in, but we’ll take this win for sure,” said O’Neal. “It was getting a little slick there those last few laps. I felt like I was just hanging on. It was a great relief when I saw the checkered flag.”

O’Neal is competing in his final weekend of the season. He’ll undergo shoulder surgery and sit out the remainder of the year before returning in 2019.

“I need to get the shoulder taken care of, so I can come back strong next February. I want to thank Todd and Vickie Burns for giving me this opportunity to drive their car. I hate it for my crew guys and everyone,” noted O’Neal. “I feel like I have let them down for the rest of the season. But I will be back stronger and better next year.”

Tyler Erb, who started seventh in the First-Class Septic Rocket, came home in second.

“To finish second to Hudson, I’ll take it,” said Erb. “I really wanted to get the win. Our car was good all night. When you run up front with these guys that says something. We will come back tomorrow night and give it another try.”

Completing the top ten were Jimmy Owens, Don O’Neal, Tim McCreadie, Earl Pearson Jr. and Nick Hoffman.

The finish:

Hudson O’Neal, Tyler Erb, Gregg Satterlee, Bobby Pierce, Josh Richards, Jimmy Owens, Don O’Neal, Tim McCreadie, Earl Pearson Jr., Nick Hoffman, Darrell Lanigan, Kyle Bronson, Dennis Erb Jr., Scott Bloomquist, Jared Hawkins, Jonathan Davenport, Brandon Overton, Jesse Lay, Mike Marlar, Michael Page, Donald McIntosh, Zack Dohm, Doug Drown, Mason Zeigler, Ricky Weiss.