A Grassy Victory For Bloomquist

Scott Bloomquist in victory lane at Cherokee Speedway. (LOLMDS photo)

GAFFNEY, S.C. — Scott Bloomquist wheeled his way into victory lane for the fifth time this season during the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series, 20th annual Grassy Smith Memorial, at Cherokee Speedway.

Bloomquist took the lead on lap 31 from Josh Richards and held off a charging Brandon Overton in the final laps to score his 599th career victory. Overton came home in second followed by Josh Richards, Don O’Neal and Dennis Erb Jr.

Hudson O’Neal led the opening lap from his outside front-row starting spot. Richards took over the point on the second lap and then led until Bloomquist forged ahead on lap 31.

“We were good on the restarts and that helped,” Bloomquist said. “This is probably the best shape I have ever seen this track in. We could run low, middle, or the top. We went to the top there towards the end and I think that helped us out a lot. The top was the place to be especially getting around those lapped cars.”

Overton was pleased with his podium finish.

“I can’t thank Billy Franklin enough. Without him I wouldn’t be here,” Overton said. “As the race went on we got stronger. That was a heck of a race up front there. I thought maybe I could catch Scott [Bloomquist] there at the end. He changed his line and that was the line I was more comfortable with coming up thru there. All-in-all it was a good race and we look forward to heading to Smoky Mountain tomorrow night.”

The finish:

Scott Bloomquist, Brandon Overton, Josh Richards, Don O’Neal, Dennis Erb Jr., Dennis Franklin, Darrell Lanigan, Jimmy Owens, Earl Pearson Jr., Gregg Satterlee, Ross Bailes, Mason Zeigler, Kyle Bronson, Jonathan Davenport, Tim McCreadie, Joe Coulter, Justin Williams, Jeff Smith, Kyle Pierce, Hudson O’Neal, Donald Bradsher, Benji Hicks, Johnny Pursley, Tyler Millwood, Bobby Pierce.