Feger Rides The High Line At Paducah

Jason Feger
Jason Feger

PADUCAH, Ky. — Jason Feger lived up to his nickname using the high line to take the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series win Saturday night at Paducah Int’l Raceway.

Feger started on the outside of the front row and fought off the challenges of Scott Bloomquist, Billy Moyer and Jimmy Owens to take his second career LOLMDS victory.

Bloomquist was running third on the white flag lap, but a fuel pump issue forced him to slow dramatically as he pulled into the infield on the final lap to finish 13th. Steve Francis then inherited the third spot as he held off his teammate, Don O’Neal on the final lap. O’Neal was fourth followed by leading Dunn-Benson Ford Rookie of the Year Contender, Jason Hughes, who recorded his best career LOLMDS finish.

“I don’t know what to say,” Feger said. “This is one of my favorite tracks as everyone knows! We were not very good the last two nights and our confidence was shaken, but we went to Jason Riggs’ shop and re-scaled the car and worked on it. We came out tonight and the car was flawless. I didn’t know how much right rear tire I had left. I used it up pretty hard out there. When I saw Billy (Moyer) slow with a flat, I was just hoping ours would hold out.”

Moyer held second position until he slowed on lap 32 with a flat tire. Owens stormed passed Bloomquist on lap 35 and chased Feger the remaining 15 laps. Owens gave it all his car could muster, but Feger was able to hold his line and keep his car out front as he went on for the win.

“We had a good car tonight, we freed it up from last night and it seemed to handle better. We haven’t run here all that much in the past, but I really like the track. It has wide sweeping corners and it definitely is a momentum track,” Owens said.

Francis was the benefactor of Bloomquist not completing the last lap.

“I don’t know what happened to him when he slowed and pulled down low. We were fortunate to get third and Don had a good finish behind us. Our car was running hot there near the end, but it was a good point’s night, and we will get ready for La Salle in a couple of weeks,” said Francis.

O’Neal set the overall Miller Welders Fast Time (Group A) among the 32 entrants, with a lap of 15.445 seconds.

The finish:

Jason Feger, Jimmy Owens, Steve Francis, Don O’Neal, Jason Hughes, Jared Landers, Earl Pearson Jr., Randy Korte, Eddie Carrier Jr., Tanner English, Brian Birkhofer, Jason McBride, Scott Bloomquist, Jason Papich, Brian Shirley, Terry English, Billy Moyer, Bobby Pierce, Dennis Erb Jr., Jimmy Mars, John Blankenship, Jason Riggs, Jim Shereck, Billy Moyer Jr.