Erb Runs Down Overton At East Bay

Tyler Erb (1) charges under Brandon Overton at East Bay Raceway Park. (Jim DenHamer photo)
Tyler Erb (1) charges under Brandon Overton at East Bay Raceway Park. (Jim DenHamer photo)

GIBSONTON, Fla. — Tyler Erb made a late-race pass on Brandon Overton to win Tuesday night’s Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series event at East Bay Raceway Park.

A caution flag waved on the final lap for Brandon Sheppard just before the checkered flag, setting up a duel between Erb and Overton for the top of the podium.

The victory for Erb was his 10th career win in Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series competition, his third career win at East Bay and his third victory of 2021.

Shirley jumped to the lead at the start of the race and led the first nine laps. Overton moved up from his fifth starting spot to grab the lead. A three-car battle for the lead ensued between Overton, Shirley, and Erb for the remainder of the race.

“I thought that would have made a great tv thing,” Erb explained. “We were able to pull through. It made my heart skip a beat when I headed to the checkered and then the caution came out. I was not happy about that. We definitely had to work for everything we have gotten this week. I can’t thank the crew enough for all they do. Eric Brock gave me the opportunity of a lifetime to drive his car and we hope to be in for a long time.”

Overton was in the hunt once again for a victory at the third-mile oval track.

“It’s just hard to make that right call every night on the car because the track changes so much,” Overton said. “We just want to keep it on the podium.”

Shirley was the overall fastest qualifier for the 74 entrants and was looking for his first career win in the series and at East Bay but came home third.

“I don’t have a ton of experience here. We have run just a few times up front. It is not one of my better tracks. I was set up for the track to get a little blacker where I could steer a little better. I couldn’t hug the corners where I needed to.”

The finish:

Tyler Erb, Brandon Overton, Brian Shirley, Josh Richards, Kyle Bronson, Tanner English, Johnny Scott, Hudson O’Neal, Devin Moran, Tyler Bruning, Mason Zeigler, Frank Heckenast Jr., Tony Jackson Jr., Jonathan Davenport, Blair Nothdurft, Billy Moyer Jr., Wil Herrington, Spencer Hughes, Brandon Sheppard, Ricky Thornton Jr., Kyle Strickler, Stormy Scott, Earl Pearson Jr., Shane Clanton, Mark Whitener, Jimmy Owens, Mike Marlar, Tim McCreadie, Gregg Satterlee, Dennis Erb Jr.