Erb Rolls From Eighth To Win At Brownstown

Dennis Erb Jr. in victory lane Saturday night at Brownstown (Ind.) Speedway. (Mike Ruefer photo)
Dennis Erb Jr. in victory lane Saturday night at Brownstown (Ind.) Speedway. (Mike Ruefer photo)

BROWNSTOWN, Ind. — Dennis Erb Jr. came from the eighth starting spot to win the 16th annual Indiana Icebreaker sanctioned by the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Saturday night at Brownstown Speedway.

Erb, took the lead on lap six from Josh McGuire and went unchallenged the rest of the way for the $10,000 victory.

Erb’s fifth career LOLMDS win tonight was also his first series win outside of East Bay Raceway Park in Florida. Don O’Neal finished second, followed by Greg Johnson, Jared Landers, and Bobby Pierce.

“The car was amazing all night; we didn’t change much at all! This was probably the best car I have had here at Brownstown. In the feature, the track was racy from top to bottom. We started on the outside of the fourth row and the top was great, so that’s where I stayed and it didn’t take us long to get to the front,” said Erb, who earned his fourth career win at the South Central Indiana track.

“The car was good all week at East Bay last month, if not for a few blown tires, we would have won the points, but we had a good night tonight and we want to stay with the series all year, if we can find some more funding then that’s what we will do,” said the 40-year-old Erb.

Once Erb was in front there was no catching him. The only caution of the race came out with 20 laps complete, but on the restart, Erb pulled away from his nearest competitors.

Bobby Pierce set the overall fastest time among the 37 entrants, with a lap of 14.798 seconds.

The finish:

Dennis Erb Jr., Don O’Neal, Greg Johnson, Jared Landers, Bobby Pierce, Darrell Lanigan, Mike Marlar, John Blankenship, Jimmy Owens, Josh Richards, Steve Francis, Scott Bloomquist, Eddie Carrier Jr., Earl Pearson Jr., Michael Asberry, Brandon Sheppard, Billy Moyer Jr., Josh McGuire, Jeremy Hines, Chad Stapleton, Jeff Babcock, Joe Janowski, Jerry Lierly, Jason McBride, Austin Hubbard, Michael Chilton, Tom Rivers.