Erb Dominates Lucas Opener At East Bay

Dennis Erb Jr. dominated Monday night's Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series opener at East Bay Raceway Park. (Al Steinberg photo)
Dennis Erb Jr. dominated Monday night’s Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series opener at East Bay Raceway Park. (Al Steinberg photo)

GIBSONTON, Fla. — Defending DART Winternationals champion Dennis Erb Jr. kicked off the 2013 Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series season with a clean sweep of events Monday night.

Erb was the Red Buck Fast Qualifier; won his heat race to earn the outside front row starting spot and led every lap to win the main event. He earned $5,000 for the win.

Erb in his J&L Scrap Metals, Kuntz and Company powered Bloomquist Race Cars No. 28 earned his third career win at the “Clay by the Bay” by holding off two-time series champion Scott Bloomquist.

Bloomquist made a last-lap dash and came up one car-length short of victory. Don O’Neal held off another veteran, Donnie Moran, to claim third. Bobby Pierce rounded out the top five.

“What can I say; the car was terrific all night,” Erb said. “I didn’t realize I had qualified that fast, they said we nearly broke the track record. To lead the laps we did and to beat Scott, takes a great effort.”

“We had a good car all night,” said Bloomquist, who entered the event with five career wins at the third-mile oval. “The track was exceptional tonight, you could run anywhere on it, congrats to him (Erb), he drove a good race, it was one of our cars and we are happy about that.”

In preliminary action, Erb set the Red Buck Fast Time amongst the 42 entrants, with a lap of 14.173 seconds.

The finish:

Dennis Erb Jr., Scott Bloomquist, Don O’Neal, Donnie Moran, Bobby Pierce, Tyler Reddick, Austin Hubbard, Devin Moran, Jared Landers, Mark Whitener, Eric Jacobsen, Vic Coffey, Eddie Carrier Jr., Ronny Lee Hollingsworth, John Blankenship, Steve Francis, Chad Hollenbeck, Todd Frank, Stormy Scott, Brad Malcuit, David Breazeale, Dan Stone, Justin Rattliff, Jason Riggs, Jerry Lierly, Doug Blashe.