Clash Of Titans Belongs To Owens

Jimmy Owens (20) races under Scott Bloomquist Tuesday night at Lakeside Speedway. (Ivan Veldhuizen photo)
Jimmy Owens (20) races under Scott Bloomquist Tuesday night at Lakeside Speedway. (Ivan Veldhuizen photo)
Jimmy Owens (20) races under Scott Bloomquist Tuesday night at Lakeside Speedway. (Ivan Veldhuizen photo)

KANSAS CITY, Kan. — Jimmy Owens showed why he is the three-time and defending Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series champion.

Owens dominated the “Clash of the Titans” Tuesday night at Lakeside Speedway. Owens took the lead on lap 19 from Scott Bloomquist and ran off from the field in winning by more than eight seconds.

Terry Phillips charged from ninth to finish second, and was faster in the closing laps than Owens, but was still nearly a half-a-lap behind, with two laps remaining. The race went caution-free, which enabled Owens to open up a huge advantage over his nearest competitors. Bloomquist finished third, followed by Brandon Overton, and Don O’Neal.

“What a car we had tonight,” Owens said. “We could drive it anywhere. On these hard tires, it takes a while for them to get going. We had a heck of a race with Scott. The handling on his car started to go away enough that I could pull alongside him coming off of turn number four when we took over the lead. Traffic wasn’t that much of a problem. I have to thank Mike Reece, who is here again tonight. He is my good luck charm.”

Bloomquist made his first appearance at the track tonight and was looking for a clean-sweep of the night’s activities. He set fast time, easily won his heat race, and started on the pole of the 50-lap main event. Bloomquist held on to the lead as long as he could before Owens, who started third charged by him on the outside off of turn four.

“It’s only our second time here,” said the winner, who notched his seventh series win of the year and now has 51 career victories with the series. “We learned a lot last year, but of course this year we had the Club 29 Race Car and I don’t think it looked as easy as it appeared out there. I didn’t know how big of a lead I had. To run like this with this caliber of competition here tonight is just unbelievable.”

Phillips had just finished second in the modified feature then jumped into his late model and motored to another second-place finish.

“I don’t know if running the modified feature helped; it’s a completely different ballgame with these guys,” Phillips said.”I may have learned that line around the top was the way to go. I should have gotten up there earlier. I wasn’t going to run Jimmy down, even with a caution flag, he was in another time zone tonight.”

Bloomquist maintained his third-place position in the series point standings and said something went amiss in his car.

“We had some kind of part failure underneath the car. I am not exactly sure what it was. We will look tomorrow,” Bloomquist said. “The car was a handful. There were tacky spots and then slick spots out there. I was up on the wheel for most of the race, just to hang on for third.”

Bloomquist set the overall Miller Welders Fast Time (Group A) among the 31 entrants, with a lap of 16.870 seconds.

The finish:

Jimmy Owens, Terry Phillips, Brandon Overton, Scott Bloomquist, Don O’Neal, Eddie Carrier Jr., Jason Feger, Ryan Gustin, Jared Landers, Rodney Sanders, Jesse Stovall, Steve Francis, Billy Moyer, John Blankenship, Chris Simpson, Dennis Erb Jr., Earl Pearson Jr., Jason Hughes, Tommy Weder, Jason Papich, Jeremy Payne, Jack Sullivan, Will Vaught, Bill Koons.

Previous articleSanders Keeps Rolling In Kansas City
Next articleSchatz Wins Fifth Silver Cup is America's Trusted Motorsports Authority. Since 1934, SPEED SPORT has been the destination for all things motorsports news...from NASCAR to Formula 1, Sprint Cars to Top Fuel dragsters, Supercross to Superbikes.