Chris Ferguson Defends His Home Turf

Chris Ferguson
Chris Ferguson will run the full World of Outlaws Craftsman Late Model Series schedule in 2018. (LOLMDS Photo)

FAYETTEVILLE, N.C. – Chris Ferguson made his home-state fans proud on Thursday night as he won his first Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series event during the Dunn-Benson Ford Wayne Gray Memorial at Fayetteville Motor Speedway.

The 27-year-old completed a dream night by setting fast time, winning his heat, and leading all the way to become the 15th different driver to win a Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series race this year.

Gregg Satterlee, in his first appearance at the track, came home in second. Satterlee was followed by G.R. Smith, who recoded his best Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series finish in third. Completing the top five drivers were Josh Richards and Steve Francis.

With his finish tonight, Richards has taken over the points lead from Scott Bloomquist by just 10 points heading into Cherokee Speedway on Friday night.

Ferguson emerged from his car in victory lane and hugged a multitude of people to the cheers of the large crowd on hand for the event, and thanked several people and sponsors for their help in finally getting to Lucas Oil Victory Lane for the first time.

“Man, thank you all so much, thanks to the fans for coming out tonight. I wasn’t sure about passing McCreadie, Once I couldn’t get to his outside I just rode around there. I slowed my pace down there towards the end. It’s taken a lot of hard work and sweat to get here [to victory lane]. I nearly won a Lucas Oil race at Cherokee back in ’09, but finished second or third. Hats off to my crew, my friends and family, and all my fans for sticking with us. There’s been a lot of ups and downs but they have always stuck with me,” said Ferguson, who previously won a World of Outlaws Craftsman Late Model Series race at Fayetteville Motor Speedway.

Ferguson fought off all challenges from Satterlee and Smith to get the win. Despite heavy late-race traffic, Ferguson held a manageable lead until the finish.

“I have to thank Mark Richards at Rocket Chassis, and this is a brand-new Clements Racing Engine. Thanks to Lucas Oil and the track for putting this on. I have to actually get up and go work tomorrow, but we will be at Cherokee tomorrow night to try and make it two-in-a-row,” said Ferugson.

Satterlee’s second place finish was well-deserved after he suffered issues on Monday Night at Muskingum County Speedway where he failed to complete a lap.

‘”We put a new Durham engine in the car today and it performed very well. This was my first time here and I thought the track was good. Congrats to Chris on the win. I believe that was three Rocket XR1’s in the top three,” said Satterlee.

Smith, who narrowly lost out to Ferguson for overall fast time, had his best Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series finish.

“Oh, we are extremely happy. That’s our best run with these guys. They are the best in the business and it’s an honor to race with them,” said Smith.

The finish:

Chris Ferguson, Gregg Satterlee, G.R. Smith, Josh Richards, Steve Francis, Earl Pearson Jr., Dustin Mitchell, Kyle Pierce, Scott Bloomquist, Jimmy Owens, Boom Briggs, Don O’Neal, Tim McCreadie, Darrell Lanigan, Justin Williams, Donald Bradsher, Hudson O’Neal, Mike Parker, Dennis Erb Jr., Willie Milliken, Zach Cox, Roger Lucas, Dennis Franklin, Doug Sanders, Jonathan Davenport.