Boggs Takes Home The Trophy At Portsmouth


PORTSMOUTH, Ohio – Jackie Boggs used a strong late-race restart to win the Pepsi 50 River Days Rumble on Saturday at Portsmouth Raceway Park.

Scott Bloomquist was in control of the race before a caution with 40 laps complete, setting up a thrilling finish in the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series event.

Bloomquist had the dominant car from the start of the event, then over the last ten laps he developed fuel-pressure issues. He gave up the lead to Boggs on lap 43. Boggs brought the huge crowd to its feet with his high-side pass of Bloomquist as he pulled away for his third career LOLMDS victory. Steve Francis finished second for the third consecutive time in LOLMDS competition. Jared Landers finished third, followed by Eddie Carrier Jr., and Bloomquist, who faded to fifth at the finish.

“This car was just a frame on Monday morning, we worked all-week on this new Swartz car and I will tell you, this thing is fast,” said the winner, afterwards. “I think the paint just dried on the car today,” Boggs excitedly said. “We had gone so long without a caution. I was just content to hang on for third. But then the caution came out with ten to go and I thought well maybe we had another chance at Bloomquist.”

Francis, who continues his late-season surge, backed up his runner-up finishes at Lawrenceburg and Attica at one of his favorite venues tonight.

“We had another solid finish tonight for the Clint Bowyer Racing Team,” he said. “If I could have gotten by Scott sooner, I might have had a chance at Jackie, but he was gone by the time I cleared Scott. I have to thank Georgia Boot, Peak Antifreeze and Motor Oil, Barry Wright Race Cars, and all of my crew. We are going to get back to victory lane here soon.”

The finish:

Jackie Boggs, Steve Francis, Jared Landers, Eddie Carrier, Jr., Scott Bloomquist, John Blankenship, Don O’Neal, Jimmy Owens, Brian Birkhofer, Earl Pearson, Jr., Jason Papich, Rod Conley, Dennis Erb, Jr., Jason Hughes, Steve Lucas, Mason Zeigler, RJ Conley, Shannon Thornsberry, Chris Combs, Delmas Conley, Jason Montgomery, Kevin Wagner, Kenneth Howell, Audie Swartz