Bloomquist Owns Lawrenceburg Again

Scott Bloomquist won Saturday's Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series race at Lawrenceburg Speedway.

LAWRENCEBURG, Ind. – Scott Bloomquist came from the seventh starting position to win Saturday’s Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series event at Lawrenceburg Speedway.

The win is Bloomquist’s third straight win in the Whiskey City 60. Bloomquist became the fourth different leader of the race after taking the top spot on lap 35. He promptly pulled away from the field.

Darrell Lanigan led the first 25 laps of the race until Hudson O’Neal took over the top spot. O’Neal then saw fellow Rookie of the Year contender Gregg Satterlee pass him for the lead. Satterlee held the lead until Bloomquist charged by him to take the top spot for good.

Jimmy Owens finished in second, with current series points leader Josh Richards taking the third spot. Completing the top five were Satterlee and Hudson O’Neal.

“I was helping unload an engine. I said we should run a pipe through it. I kind of slipped and ended up carrying quite a bit of the weight and it [his back] has been getting worse ever since,” Bloomquist said.

Bloomquist has also battled two torn rotator cuffs in recent seasons.

“You just get used to it after a while,” Bloomquist said. “The car was getting good grip on the bottom, it took a little while for the tires to come into it. On that one restart, I really wanted to get to the bottom. I was afraid if Jimmy [Owens] had gotten in front of me, it would be tough to get around him.”

Owens was pleased with his run at Lawrenceburg in the Ramirez Motorsports, E3 Spark Plugs, Rocket Chassis.

“He [Bloomquist] was better than I was. My car was way too tight and I couldn’t rotate the corners like I wanted to. We have been picking up the pace lately and getting better and better. Maybe we can click off a few more wins this year,” said Owens.

Richards entered the race 110 points ahead of Tim McCreadie and 145-points in front of Bloomquist, maintaining his points lead after his third-place finish.

“The best car won. I am just kicking myself on that restart. I thought the car would be better than it was – we just fell back,” Richards said. “Thanks to everyone at Best Performance Motorsports. I was only here once in 2009 so these guys have a lot more laps around here. We have run a lot of places for the very first time this year. We will keep digging at it.”

The win for Bloomquist was his eighth of the season – and he maintains the top spot in all-time series wins with 85.

The finish:

Scott Bloomquist, Jimmy Owens, Josh Richards, Gregg Satterlee, Hudson O’Neal, Steve Francis, Tim McCreadie, Dennis Erb Jr., Jonathan Davenport, Earl Pearson Jr., Don O’Neal, Jason Jameson, Cody Mahoney, Darrell Lanigan, Michael Chilton, Jeff Babcock, Kody Evans, Ted Nobbe, Robby Hensley, Kent Robinson, Josh Rice, Scott James, Steve Casebolt, Austyn Mills.