Bloomquist Leads North/South Drills


UNION, Ky. — Night one of the 32nd annual Sunoco North/South 100 presented by Lucas Oil had 52 drivers entered for the crown jewel event at Florence Speedway. Drivers ran two rounds of heat races Friday.

The top 16 in combined passing points are now locked into Saturday night’s $50,000-to-win 100-lap feature.

Two-time LOLMDS National Champion, Scott Bloomquist was the only driver to win two heat races tonight, during an evening that saw some amazing heat racing action. In the second round of heat races, Bloomquist came from the 10th-starting spot to win.

Other heat race winners in round one were: Jason Jameson, Steve Francis, Michael Chilton, and Jared Landers. Four drivers joined Bloomquist in victory lane during round two, including: Dustin Linville, Gregg Satterlee, Jimmy Owens and John Blankenship.

After the conclusion of the heats, the top 16 drivers that have been locked into Saturday night’s main event are Scott Bloomquist, Jimmy Owens, John Blankenship, Mike Marlar, Don O’Neal, Eddie Carrier Jr., Steve Francis, Brandon Overton, Jared Landers, Jimmy Mars, Doug Drown, Gregg Satterlee, Tim McCreadie, Jesse Lay, Randy Weaver, and Dale McDowell.