Bloomquist Gets It Done At Tazewell


TAZEWELL, Tenn. — Two-time Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series champion Scott Bloomquist led all 50 laps of Sunday’s Toyota Knoxville 50 at Tazewell Speedway.

Bloomquist completed a sweep of the night’s racing activities. He started out by setting a new track record in time trials, winning his heat, and taking his third LOLMDS win of the season. He earned $10,000 for the victory.

Don O’Neal gave chase to Bloomquist for most of the race as he wound up in second followed by Billy Ogle Jr., John Blankenship and Ear Pearson Jr.

“The car was just phenomenal tonight,” said Bloomquist, who earned his 45th career win on the LOLMDS tour. “The Roush Yates Racing Engine ran perfect and the car handled so well, right from hot laps on. I want to thank my crew, sponsors, and everybody with my race team. Hopefully we can get on a roll again.

“The traffic is always an issue here, we ran up on some cars and I backed off the throttle a little. I didn’t know how close Don (O’Neal) was, but I had to be careful. I want to thank Bob and Barb Miller, they are here tonight and they have been long supporters of us.”

Bloomquist held a good-sized lead for most of the race, as only two cautions slowed the event. On each restart, Bloomquist pulled away from the field. O’Neal tried to track Bloomquist down in the final laps but ran out of time. Ogle briefly held the second-spot after the first restart, but O’Neal eventually got him back, and chased down the leader.

Rounding out the top 10 were Jonathan Davenport, Jimmy Owens, Steve Francis, Vic Hill and Eric Wells.

In preliminary action, Scott Bloomquist set a blistering pace in Red Buck Cigars Time Trials and clocking a track record 10.822 seconds.

The finish:

Scott Bloomquist, Don O’Neal, Billy Ogle, John Blankenship, Earl Pearson Jr., Jonathan Davenport, Jimmy Owens, Steve Francis, Vic Hill, Eric Wells, Brad Neat, Jared Landers, Jeff Wolfenbarger, Bryan Hendrix, Tyler Reddick, Ray Cook, Dennis Erb Jr., Steve Smith, Mike Weeks, Jason Trammell, Rick Rogers, Austin Hubbard.

STAY CONNECTED! Get the latest motorsports headlines delivered to your inbox every morning with the NSSN Daily Motorsports Update newsletter. Click HERE to signup – its FREE!