Bayne Set For Lucas LM Debut

Trevor Bayne will make his first start in the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series this weekend.
Trevor Bayne will make his first start in the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series this weekend.

BULLS GAP, Tenn. – The Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series will be back in action with a special Thursday night show this week at Volunteer Speedway and a Saturday night event at Lawrenceburg Speedway in Lawrenceburg, Ind.

There will be complete shows both nights, with Red Buck Cigar Time Trials, Heat Races, B-Mains and $10,000 to win/$800 to start feature events.

The ninth annual Scorcher at Volunteer Speedway will mark the ninth visit by the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series to the Joe and Phyliss Loven-promoted facility.

Tennessee’s own Jimmy Owens and Scott Bloomquist have each won twice at “The Gap” since the series started racing there in 2007.

Other winners at Volunteer in LOLMDS competition include; 4-time series champion, Earl Pearson, Jr., Dale McDowell, Tim McCreadie and Ray Cook.

NASCAR star Trevor Bayne will enter his first ever LOLMDS event on Thursday night at Volunteer Speedway and will compete against some of the nation’s top dirt late model drivers in the country.

Not only will Trevor be competing in the main event, but fans attending the “Scorcher” on Thursday will have an opportunity for a ride-along with him in the Volunteer Speedway two-seater late-model.

Only five rides will take place. The cost of the ride-of-a-lifetime with Trevor Bayne around the high banks at “The Gap” is $100 for a five-lap ride and the chance to meet Trevor.

The visit on Saturday night to Indiana’s Lawrenceburg Speedway will mark the fifth appearance at the immaculate facility promoted by Dave and Kim Rudisell.

In the previous four races at “The Burg,”, there have been four different winners including: Darren Miller, Brian Birkhofer, Dale McDowell and last year’s race winner, Don O’Neal.