Owens Goes Topless In Batesville


BATESVILLE, Ark. – For the second time in his career, Jimmy Owens found victory lane in the COMP Cams Topless 100 Presented by Crop Production Services on Saturday at Batesville Motor Speedway.

The three-time and defending Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series champion took the lead on lap 81 from Don O’Neal and cruised on for the $40,000 victory. Owens had previously won the event back in 2009.

Dale McDowell charged from his eleventh starting spot to finish second. McDowell passed Jonathan Davenport on the final circuit to earn the runner-up spot. Davenport came home third, followed by 23rd-starting, Scott Bloomquist, with Don O’Neal rounding out the top five.

“It’s such a great win for our team, my car owner Mike Reece, and all my sponsors. The Club 29 car and the Cornett Ford Engine combination haven’t missed a beat this season. You could run anywhere on this track once things got going. The groove widened out as the race went on. I could maneuver my car anywhere. I tried a couple of times to get by Don [O’Neal], but he held his line and raced us clean. I just got a run on him and we were fortunate enough to clear him.”

Pole-sitter Stacy Taylor led the first ten laps of the event. O’Neal got by him on lap 10, and then built a steady lead over the field. Taylor held down the second spot until four-time Topless 100 winner, Billy Moyer moved past him to take over second. Owens, who started seventh, picked up the pace after a couple of caution flags had bunched the field.

Owens lost second to hometown driver and former winner of the event, Wendell Wallace in the middle stages of the race. Wallace scooted by Owens and held the position until lap 54 when Owens got back by him. O’Neal and Owens then waged a two-car battle for the race lead until Owens forged ahead with 19 laps to go.

The finish:

Jimmy Owens, Dale McDowell, Jonathan Davenport, Scott Bloomquist, Don O’Neal, John Blankenship, Stacy Taylor, Jimmy Mars, Chris Brown, Jared Landers, Steve Francis, Bub McCool, Dennis Erb, Jr., Eddie Carrier, Jr., Wendell Wallace, Robert Baker, Jack Sullivan, Tommy Surrett, Robbie Stuart, Terry Phillips, Mike Marlar, Jason Papich, Shannon Babb, Billy Moyer, Jr., Billy Moyer, Kyle Beard, Brian Birkhofer