A Historical Look At The Late Model Knoxville Nationals

Shannon Babb (18), Brian Shirley (3) and Justin Duty race three-wide during Lucas Oil Late Model Knoxville Nationals preliminary action last year at Knoxville Raceway. (Jim Denhamer Photo)

KNOXVILLE, Iowa — The 16th annual Lucas Oil Late Model Knoxville Nationals will be run Sept. 12-14 at Knoxville Raceway.

It is the only annual late model event at the Sprint Car Capital of the World, with the sport’s best racers uniting under the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series banner for three nights of racing on the historic black-dirt, half-mile oval at the Marion County Fairgrounds.

Twelve different drivers have won the prestigious event with inaugural 2004 event winner Brian Birkhofer, Scott Bloomquist and Mike Marlar each having won the race twice.

Other drivers to win the Lucas Oil Late Model Nationals are Brian Shirley, Brady Smith, Tim McCreadie, Don O’Neal, Steve Francis, Darrell Lanigan, Jared Landers and Jimmy Owens, who won the race in 2018.

Four of late model racing’s biggest current stars — Bobby Pierce, Brandon Sheppard, Josh Richards and Jonathan Davenport – have yet to conquer Knoxville Raceway.

For a greater historical perspective of the Lucas Oil Late Model Nationals we take you inside the numbers.

153 — Laps led by Scott Bloomquist during the Lucas Oil Late Model Nationals, more than any other driver.

15th — Starting position of 2004 winner Brian Birkhofer, the deepest in the field any driver has come to win.

10 — Most top-10 finishes in the Lucas Oil Late Model Nationals … Scott Bloomquist.

15 — Jimmy Mars is the only driver to start all 15 Lucas Oil Late Model Nationals A mains.

98 — Car count for the inaugural event in 2004. Fifty-eight cars were on hand in 2008.

7 — Laps led by Tony Stewart in the Lucas Oil Late Model Nationals.

Winners List

2004 – Brian Birkhofer
2005 – Scott Bloomquist
2006 – Brian Shirley
2007 – Brady Smith
2008 – Tim McCreadie
2009 – Scott Bloomquist
2010 – Billy Moyer
2011 – Don O’Neal
2012 – Steve Francis
2013 – Darrell Lanigan
2014 – Brian Birkhofer
2015 – Jared Landers
2016 – Mike Marlar
2017 – Mike Marlar
2018 – Jimmy Owens

It’s the last fling before spring! Experience the world’s best late model racing at Knoxville Raceway’s Lucas Oil Late Model Nationals! Thursday, Sept. 12th through Saturday, Sept. 14th. Get your tickets today!