Looney Aces Kansas LM Foes


TOPEKA, Kan. — Brad Looney’s Victory Circle by Moyer late model landed in the Lucas Oil MLRA Triple A victory lane for the second time in 2011 Friday night.


Looney lead from start to finish in the Spring Meltdown at I-80 Speedway last weekend, and led all but one lap Friday night. Looney won his heat race at HPT.com Speedway in Topeka, Kan., to start the feature on the pole.


Four yellow flags in four laps slowed the pace at first, but the final 31 laps were contested caution free. John Anderson made a charge off of turn two, late in the race, above Looney and briefly took the lead. Looney then changed his line and battled back to the front.


Looney held off Anderson with Al Purkey charging from 18th to finish third. Jesse Stovall and Tony Jackson, Jr. rounded out the top five.


The finish:

Brad Looney, John Anderson, Al Purkey, Jesse Stovall, Tony Jackson, Jr., Terry Phillips, R.C. Whitwell, Denny Eckrich, David Turner, Kyle Berck, Nick Marolf, Jason Pursley, Jason O’Brien, Dave Eckrich, Joe Kosiski, Bill Koons, Alan Vaughn, Corey Zeitner, Chris Simpson, Jeremy Payne, Al Humphrey, Chad Simpson, Delbert Smith, Matt Furman.