Lloyd Banks 10 Grand, Turner Claims Title

Matthew Turner captured the NeSmith Chevrolet Dirt Late Model Series championship.
Matthew Turner captured the NeSmith Chevrolet Dirt Late Model Series championship.

OCALA, Fla. — Ivedent Lloyd Jr. was declared the $10,000 winner in the 100-lap eighth annual Chevrolet Performance World Championship Race on Saturday night for the NeSmith Chevrolet Dirt Late Model Series at Bubba Raceway Park.

Matthew Turner won the $20,000 NeSmith Chevrolet DLMS Championship.

The engine in the B&B Produce/Dave’s Towing Special driven by apparent winner Mark Whitener was disqualified by NeSmith Chevrolet Dirt Late Model Series officials because of a piston violation.

Turner won the $20,000 NeSmith Chevrolet Dirt Late Model Series Championship in the Hedman Husler Special by ten points over two-time series champion David Earl Gentry in the Eads Farms/Hardy & Associates Warrior. It was an up and down weekend for both drivers, as they exchanged the point lead twice during the event.

Turner held a 16-point lead over Gentry coming into the weekend. Gentry had a mechanical problem during the Thursday night practice session and had to change engines on Friday morning. Turner was the fastest qualifier in his group, and started the fourth ten-lap heat race from the pole position. Turner dropped back in the race, finished sixth and failed to transfer to the main event.

Gentry started eighth in the first heat race, but rallied to finish fourth and transfer into the main event, earning the 13th starting spot. Turner started fourth in the first 20-lap B main Saturday night, and failed to finish in one of the top three transfer spots. Turner took a provisional and started the main event from the 23rd starting spot.

Gentry started the race with four-point lead over Turner in the Championship battle. As the race unfolded, Gentry had charged his way up to third spot, but things changed dramatically on lap 45. After restarting in third spot after a lap-42 caution flag, Gentry fell off the pace and dropped back to the sixth spot, and Turner moved up to 12th and took over the point lead from Gentry.

Lap 45 saw Gentry stop on the track with a cut down left-front tire, and the caution flag came out. Gentry went to the pits, changed the tire, and restarted in the 18th spot. Gentry charged back through the field and ended up finishing seventh, but Turner claimed the 12th spot at the finish to win the championship.

“After 146 consecutive races and eight years of trying, we finally got this championship, and it was really nerve racking to get it,” Turner said. “David Earl is a tough competitor, and we have traded having bad luck all season. I hated to see him cut down that tire because I really wanted to win the championship racing with him right down the end.”

Shan Smith started 21st and finished second. Doug Horton took the third spot.

Keith Nosbisch came back from a lap-16 cut tire to finish fourth with Dennis Franklin fifth.

Mike Stalnaker won the thunder stock feature.

The finish:

Ivedent Lloyd Jr., Shan Smith, Doug Horton, Keith Nosbisch, Dennis Franklin, Mack McCarter, David Earl Gentry, Chase Edge, Walker Arthur, Shannon Lee, Justin McRee, Matthew Turner, Johnny Stokes, Larry Harrod, Josh Adkins, Michael Blount, Jason Fitzgerald, Don O’Neal, Kyle Bronson, Chris Cantrell, Chris Wilson, Ryan Montgomery, Joey Coulter, Ronnie Johnson, Greg Martin, David Smith, Jeff Matthews, Mark Whitener